LibGuides: Numeric Data & Statistics: Statistics & Aggregate Data

Finding Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

StatCan Data Portal - Canadian Time Series Aggregate Data [Statistics Canada]

Use the StatCan Data Portal (formerly known as CANSIM) to view time series tables on a wide variety of socio-economic topics. Tables can be altered by adding/removing different data dimensions (e.g., geography, sex, age group). Data in tables can be downloaded as Excel-compatible CSV files.

Statistics Canada Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada Data Portal is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, Statistics Canada Data Portal provides access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.
CANSIM [via CHASS] This link opens in a new window
CANSIM via CHASS OLAP View option is recommended for advanced manipulatation and visualization of data sets in different ways (see video tutorial).

Census of Population (Canada) & National Household Survey (NHS) [Statistics Canada]

If you're unsure of where to begin, start by reviewing Which census product should I use? [SFU Library].

Census of Population [Census Program] -- Statistics Canada [Free Access]
Includes links to previous censuses (1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 & 2016)
Census Profile [Free Access]
information from the 2021 Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, census tracts and health regions. Note: Aboriginal Population Profiles of communities also available.
Census Program Data Viewer (CPDV) [Free Access]
A web-based data visualization tool that presents key indicators in a statistical dashboard. Use to find places in Canada, see them on a map, and get basic geographic and socio-demographic data. Make sure to READ THE TUTORIAL!

Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
Access and tailor your output of Canadian census data, including access to Enumeration Area level Profile Tables, Census Tract level Profile Tables, Provincial and Federal District Profile Tables and the Individual Microdata Files.

Content: Canadian, Data, Statistics

Census Program Datasets 1991 | 1996 | 2001 | 2006 | 2011 | 2016 [Free Access]
A multi-census year data portal providing users with streamlined access to selected datasets from the 1991 to 2016 Census (and 2011 National Household Survey). Public Use Microdata Files (PUMFs) are considered ‘Excluded.’
Guide to the Census of Population [U. of Calgary]
Guide for understanding the census and creating census maps.

Census of Agriculture (Canada)

Census of Agriculture 2021 -- Statistics Canada [Free Access]
Data products, Analytical reports, Reference materials, Geography (maps & shapefiles), and Infographics.

Aggregated Statistics -- Census of Population [Open Access] via <odesi> portal -- Use these files to obtain agricultural statistics by census geography (e.g., Census Agricultural Region, Census Division & Census Consolidated Subdivision).

Alberta Statistics

Alberta Office of Statistics and Information (OSI)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

City of Lethbridge Census
Census reports 2010-present

Other Databases Containing Statistics

Still can't find the statistics you're after?

The Library also maintains the web page Statistics Resources that lists databases that contain a wide assortment of statistics.

Canada Federal Government Statistics

Statistics Canada
Statistics on population, society, economy, etc.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI)
Provider of information about Canada’s health system and the health of Canadians.

Statistics Canada Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada Data Portal is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, Statistics Canada Data Portal provides access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

Canada at a glance [electronic resource] / Statistics Canada
Canadian demography, education, health and aging, justice, housing, income, labour market, household, economy, travel, finance, agriculture, foreign trade and environment.
Social Policy Simulation Database and Model (SPSD/M) [Restricted Access / By Request]
Analyze financial interactions of governments and individuals in Canada; assess cost implications & income redistributive effects of changes in the personal taxation and cash transfer system.
Statistics Canada InfoGuide: Historical resources
Sources of historical statistics produced by Statistics Canada and its predecessor agencies.

U.S. Federal Government Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Data and Statistics about the U.S. - USA.gov
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
U.S. Census Bureau
Data about the nation's people and economy.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (to 2012)
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S.
U.S. Census Bureau - Publications
Includes list of publications topics; recent and historical.
State & County QuickFacts - U.S. Census Bureau
Statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people.

World Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

United Nations Statistical Yearbook
A wide range of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities at the national, regional and world levels. Also available online.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook
An international compendium of national demographic statistics provided by national statistical authorities.
United Nations Country Data
Visualize data at country level and compare national and international estimates.
FAO statistical yearbook [electronic resource] : world food and agriculture
A compendium of data on the major trends shaping global food and agriculture.
Population Reference Bureau - DataSheets
PRB data sheets are ready references of demographic and health indicators by country and region including population projections and key data insights.
African Statistical Yearbook
A time series showing how African countries performed on several economic and social indicators.
International historical statistics, 1750-2010 [electronic resource]
Key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.

About Statistics

Statistics are the numeric facts and figures which have been created from the data. These can take the form of e-publications, e-tables or databases.

Statistical information can be described as the added value arising from the interpretation of statistics or data. This information will often be in the form of some sort of analysis.

About Aggregate Data

Aggregate data are statistics organized into a data structure or database based on tabulations organized by geography, time or social observations.

Numeric Data & Statistics: Statistics & Aggregate Data