Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to United Nations statistics, including international economic, social, financial and development topics.
Downloadable country data on topics such population and migration; production and productivity; household income, wealth and debt; globalisation, trade and foreign direct investment (FDI); prices, interest rates and exchange rates; energy and transportation; labour, employment and unemployment; science and technology including research and development (R&D) and the Information and Communications Technology (ICT) sector; environment including natural resoures, water, and air and climate; education resources and outcomes; government expenditures, debt, revenues, taxes, agricultural support and foreign aid; and health status, risk and resources.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
Worldwide data on population/demography, health, education, economics, and the environment. Search by geography or topic.
National Statistical Offices
Links to official census sites by country, from the UN
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web
From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, this site contains a wide array of governmental statistical sites from around the world, including international organizations.
Unicef Country Statistics
Statistics by country on such topics as child mortality rates, nutrition, health, education, demographics, protection, disparities and much more.
From the European University Institute, this database compiles publicly available data from over 100 sources, offering statistical information on globalization, sustainability, and human development. Users can search on a range of topics including income distribution, energy consumption, water resources, dwellings, migration, land use, food production, nutrition, school enrollment, and life expectancy and create data visualizations. See the list of underlying sources by clicking the sources/entities link at the bottom left of the main page.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Contains freely available global information, data, and statistics on food (in)security, fighting hunger and malnutrition, and sustainable management of agriculture, forestry, and fisheries. Select a content area and create personalized data sets on multiple attributes for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961. Data sets can be downloaded raw or translated into maps, charts, or images for use in presentations or papers.
Access company, industry and country profiles along with key macro-economic, social, demographic and industry statistics. Also access news, commentaries and analyses.
Content: Industry profiles, company profiles, news, statistics and data
Contains Hoover's Company Reports for individual corporations as well as SEC filings, industry and market news, and general business news.
Canadian, US and International Statistics
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Journal Articles/Reports/Working Papers
Indexes articles from worldwide business periodicals, including scholarly journals and trade journals. Includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text, including the Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and The Economist. Users can search by specific company name or NAICS code.
Content: Scholarly journals, working papers, trade journals, books, conference papers and proceedings, magazines, newspapers, reports
Business Source Complete
Access business information by product, company, industry code, stock ticker in addition to usual search fields. Provides detailed company information and data. Covers all disciplines of business.
Content: Scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, product reviews, news articles, country reports
Finding Journal Articles
Journal articles contain more up-to-date research than books, and are a great way to supplement your research. The U of L Library subscribes to many indexes and databases which allow you to search by keyword, subject, and many more fields (ie company; product; geography; person) to find articles on your topic. These tools provide not only the citation for the articles, but usually also abstracts (a summary of what the article is about) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text isn't available either from the database in which you found the citation or by clicking the 'find full text' button, you can request the article via
interlibrary loan. Remember that if your subject is somewhat multidisciplinary, databases from other subject areas may help. Database search tips