Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Journal articles contain more up-to-date research than books, and are a great way to supplement your research. The U of L Library subscribes to many indexes and databases which allow you to search by keyword, subject, and many more fields (ie. company; product; geography; person) to find articles on your topic. These tools provide not only the citation for the articles, but usually also abstracts (a summary of what the article is about) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text isn't available either from the database in which you found the citation or by clicking the 'find full text' button, you can request the article via
interlibrary loan. Remember that if your subject is somewhat multidisciplinary, databases from other subject areas may help. Database search tips
The following databases provide industry and company information, as well as articles from scholarly and trade journals, and more. Both ABI/Inform and Business Source Complete contain industry profiles and SWOT analysis.
The business press is a good source of industry and company information. The Library subscribes to a number of journal indexes which index business publications, not limited to those listed below; see the
Databases by Subject page on the library web site for more.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from worldwide business periodicals, including scholarly journals and trade journals. Includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text, including the Wall Street Journal, The Financial Times, and The Economist. Users can search by specific company name or NAICS code.
Content: Scholarly journals, working papers, trade journals, books, conference papers and proceedings, magazines, newspapers, reports
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access business information by product, company, industry code, stock ticker in addition to usual search fields. Provides detailed company information and data. Covers all disciplines of business.
Content: Scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, case studies, industry profiles, SWOT analyses, market research reports, product reviews, news articles, country reports
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles covering Canadian business, education, and reference & current events, along with a mix of professional and current event trade journals and magazines.
Content: Scholarly journals, trade and popular magazines, media transcripts, reports, newspapers