Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mandate and Objectives: Home

Mandate

The University Archives is responsible for selecting, preserving, and making available for reference the University's non-current official records in whatever media they exist. "Records" means all information, regardless of media or characteristics, made or received and maintained by the University in pursuance of its legal obligations or in the transaction of its business. Such archival materials provide the documentation on the University's fulfillment of its functions of teaching, research, and public service, thus rendering the University's long-range accountability to the society that sustains it.

Objectives

The Archives has the following objectives:

  • To appraise, acquire, arrange, describe, preserve, and make available records of historical value
  • To provide adequate facilities for the maintenance of such records
  • To serve as an information resource for teaching and learning
  • To support research and scholarship by making its holdings available to members of the academic community and of the community at large
  • To provide information services that assist in the administration of the University
  • To promote knowledge and understanding of the University's origins, aims, programs, and goals
  • To facilitate efficient records management

Reference Services

The Archives provides reference services for both education/research and administrative purposes. The extent of reference services varies with the type of request, but at the minimum, includes guidance on the use of finding aids and on the potential sources of the information sought, and an explanation of how to use the relevant records. Within reasonable limits, the Archives provides information about the history of the University, the development of its policies and procedures, the history of its programs, its organization, and the individuals who have been connected with it.

Access Restrictions

The Archives offers as much freedom of access as possible to its archival materials. Nevertheless, the nature of and restrictions upon the deposited materials may impose limitations upon access in accordance with the following classifications:

  • Open: records for which there is unlimited access
  • Restricted 25 years: all official records other than open. During the period of restriction these are available for reference by the incumbent in the depositing office or by persons with written authorization from that officer. Subsequently, the records become open
  • Specially restricted: as required in order to satisfy legal or institutional restrictions or the conditions specified by private donors

Maintained by University Archives

Contact

Wendy Merkley, University Archivist
Location: L1172
Hours: by appointment only
Phone: (403) 329‐2031 / (403) 329-2714
Email: wendy.merkley@uleth.ca
Mail: University of Lethbridge Archives, 4401 University Drive, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 3M4