Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Journal articles contain more up-to-date research than books, and are a great way to supplement your research. The U of L Library subscribes to many indexes and databases which allow you to search by keyword, subject, and many more fields (ie company; product; geography; person) to find articles on your topic. These tools provide not only the citation for the articles, but usually also abstracts (a summary of what the article is about) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text isn't available either from the database in which you found the citation or by clicking the 'find full text' button, you can request the article via
interlibrary loan. Remember that if your subject is somewhat multidisciplinary, databases from other subject areas may help. Database search tips
The library has access to several different journals focusing on aspects of entrepreneurship through several of our databases.
' from the Databases by Subject , and then ' library home page ' and search several of the databases listed for your topic. Some other good sources of articles are listed below: Management-General
Frontiers of Entrepreneurship Research
A free online index to papers from the annual Entrepreneurship Research Conference; full text is available for some papers, but most are abstracts.
Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) is a not-for-profit academic research consortium. Contains research and data on entrepreneurial activity worldwide.
Entrepreneurship Journal Rankings
Contains various lists of top Entrepreneurship journals from various sources. To see if the U of L subscribes to any of these, search the Journal Title listing under the Find Articles tab on our home page.
This site has a wealth of information for business including industry information and statistics, international trade reports, and small business research reports.
GEM - Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
Contains economy profiles by country, global reports, data on entrepreneurship worldwide, and research articles.
A free, authoritative collection of over 1600
videos and podcasts on entrepreneurship. Topics include:
Business Plans and Profiles Index
business plan index. Indexes both print and online resources and links to full text where available.
Over 500 free
business plan templates for a variety of industries.
Resources for aspiring small business owners.
Business ideas, franchises and opportunities, expert advice, business plans, marketing tools, and more.
Free small business information from a nonprofit group.
A B2B site that allows you to search for suppliers and products; creating a free account gives you additional access.
This product of Dun & Bradstreet contains profiles of more than 14,000 companies in the US as well as articles, advice, and business tools on credit, careers, disaster planning, franchises, finance and accounting, taxation, green business, manufacturing, labor and employment, starting a business, and technology and law. Lots of information for small businesses and entrepreneurs.
This website focuses on providing small-business managers and entrepreneurs with information needed to grow or start a business. Inc.com is hosted by the same company that has published Inc. magazine since 1979. Highlights the latest trends in start-ups and entrepreneurship. Content is updated daily, and articles date back to the early 1980s. In addition to articles, the site has videos in its Inc. Live section. These focus on a mix of entrepreneurs, CEOs, and to a lesser extent academic researchers presenting at Inc.-related conferences.
BRASS Small Business & Entrepreneurship Guide
This guide developed by business librarians includes information on how to start a small business, business forms, franchising information, acquiring funding, and business plans.