LibGuides: Accounting: Articles & Data

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles contain more up-to-date research than books, and are a great way to supplement your research. The U of L Library subscribes to many indexes and databases which allow you to search by keyword, subject, and many more fields (ie. company; product; geography; person) to find articles on your topic. These tools provide not only the citation for the articles, but usually also abstracts (a summary of what the article is about) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text isn't available either from the database in which you found the citation or by clicking the 'find full text' button, you can request the article via interlibrary loan. Remember that if your subject is somewhat multidisciplinary, databases from other subject areas may help. Database search tips

Accounting Websites

Social Science Research Network The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks, including accounting and finance. The site contains abstracts of over 228,300 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 187,000 downloadable full text documents. While not all content is free, there is a lot that is, and is worthwhile checking out for working papers on your topic.
FEI Canada FEI (Financial Executives International) Canada is a member-driven organization that facilitates the sharing of knowledge, the development and dissemination of informed opinion, and the formation of communities of interest among financial leaders through their member network. Contains valuable resources, including their own research papers and newsletters, and links to external Canadian and International financial organizations' sites.
CPA Canada Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
U.S. Department of the Treasury The Treasury Department is the executive agency responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States. Areas of concern, available through this site, are Coins and Currency; Economy; Illicit Finance; Financial Markets; International; and Taxes. Reports are browsable by date or topic; also available are FAQs, fact sheets, and historical/educational information.
KPMG Quite a bit of information on auditing, advisory services, tax law and more.
Damadoran Online Run by a corporate finance & valuation prof from NYU, his site contains annual updates provide on industry averages for US and global companies, on both corporate finance and valuation metrics (including multiples), as well as his estimates of equity risk premiums and costs of capital. Not a beautiful site to navigate, but a wealth of information.

Finance & Accounting Databases

Here are some of the most-used Accounting databases. For more, please see our list of subject databases for Accounting and Finance

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window ABI/INFORM Global contains content from business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,722 active global OA journals. Access business information by product, company, industry code, and stock ticker in addition to usual search fields. Provides detailed company information and data that covers all disciplines of business. Content: Data, Magazines, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
Knotia This link opens in a new window Access Canadian accounting resources, including: Canadian Business Compliance Manual (CBCM), CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB), Guide to International Financial Reporting Standards in Canada (GIFRS), and International Financial Reporting Standards (2017). As well as a variety of tax news publications and EY Tax resources including calculators and rate cards.
IntelliConnect This link opens in a new window Access Canadian Tax reference tools, both federal and provincial. Includes the Canadian Income Tax Act, Tax Topics, Dominion Tax Cases & Canadian Master Tax Guide as well as provincial tax news.
Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Datasets included: Intraday Indicators by WRDS, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, Compustat Captial IQ, (Research Insight), Contributed Data, CRSP, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, Macro Finance Society, MSRB, OTC Markets, Penn World Tables, Peters and Taylor Total Q, PHLX, Public, Research Quotient, SEC Order Execution, TRACE, FactSet. Users must create a login to access WRDS after agreeing to the terms of usage.

WRDS Help Modules
Instructional videos for CRSP, Compustat, and more.

Database Searching

Search techniques & strategies

Web Research Basics

Some Internet resources can be useful sources of information. It is the user’s responsibility to evaluate each Web site to ensure that information is both accurate and appropriate for academic research. For help with critical evaluation, please see the U of L Library's help guide on Evaluating Websites

Accounting: Articles & Data

Finding Journal Articles

Accounting Websites

Finance & Accounting Databases

Database Searching

Search techniques & strategies

Web Research Basics

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library