LibGuides: Religious Studies: Buddhism: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell, Jr., editor in chief
Call Number: BQ 128 E62 2004

ISBN: 0028657187

Publication Date: c2004

A two-volume resource, which presents strong foundational information pertaining to all schools of Buddhist practice and philosophy. Most articles contain scholarly bibliographies for further research.

Encyclopedias, and other reference materials can be used to identify important concepts, and gather background information on a topic. The University of Lethbridge Library has a large collection of reference materials related to religious studies. Following are a few of the key encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of new religious movements by edited by Peter B. Clarke
Call Number: BP 603 E56 2006

ISBN: 0415267072

Publication Date: 2006

Contains articles on modern-day Buddhist concepts and practices.
Buddhism : critical concepts in religious studies by edited by Paul Williams
Call Number: BQ 118 B83 2005

ISBN: 0415332265

Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion by Lindsay Jones, editor in chief
Call Number: BL 31 E46 2005

ISBN: 0028657330

Publication Date: c2005

The Encyclopedia of Religion is one of the most significant information resources in religious studies.
The Buddhists : encyclopaedia of Buddhism by compiled and edited by Subodh Kapoor
Call Number: BQ 128 B82 2001

ISBN: 8177550683

Publication Date: 2001

Published in India, this five-volume encyclopedia covers important topics in all major Buddhist traditions.
Religious Bodies in the United States: A Directory by J. Gordon Melton
Call Number: BL 2525 M452 1992

ISBN: 081530806X

Publication Date: c1992
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience by Charles H. Lippy and Peter W. Williams
Call Number: BL 2525 E53 1988

ISBN: 0684180626

Publication Date: c1988

Contains a survey essay about the history and development of Buddhism in the United States, from the Transcendentalists to Buddhism and Asian immigration to the establishment of various Buddhist centres (e.g. San Francisco Zen Center, Naropa Institute).
Religion and American Cultures: an encyclopedia of traditions, diversity, and popular expressions by Luis León and Gary Laderman
Call Number: BL 2525 R448 2003

ISBN: 157607238X

Publication Date: c2003

Library

Religious Studies: Buddhism

Encyclopedias

Religious Studies Guides

Students

Information for

Campus

Follow us on social media: