LibGuides: Religious Studies: Buddhism: RELS 4110

Find Journal Articles

Databases

Religious and Theological Abstracts
Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.

Philosopher's Index
Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, and metaphysics.

Note: Also available in print (1967 to present) in the Index collection on Level 10 (Index B 1 P4).
JSTOR
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Index and citation index to peer-reviewed arts and humanities journal literature.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, multidisciplinary database covering a wide range of disciplines.

Coverage: 1887+

Journals

Journal of Chan Buddhism: East Asian and Global Perspectives
This peer-reviewed journal is the first of its kind in English to specifically present academic research about Chinese Chan, Korean Sŏn, Vietnamese Thìên, and Japanese Zen Buddhism. It is an interdisciplinary or cross-disciplinary journal from all academic disciplines related to the study of Chan/Sŏn/Zen Buddhism, including, but not limited to: the history of religions, literary studies, Dunhuang Chan studies, Tibetan and Tangut language Chan studies, doctrinal studies, art historical perspectives, institutional history, anthropological research, and comparative, philosophical studies. The journal also offers book reviews and translations into English of innovative research articles by eminent scholars in East Asia.
The Eastern Buddhist
Carries articles on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers. This unique journal was begun in 1921 under the editorship of D. T. Suzuki. Although its publication was interrupted by World War Two, The Eastern Buddhist (New Series) was revived in 1965. After Suzuki's death in 1966, the journal was continued under the editorship of Nishitani Keiji (1900-1990), Abe Masao (1915-2006), and other scholars. From 1998 to 2005 Nagao Gadjin (1907-2005) served as the editor.
Contemporary Buddhism
Publishes research on the current state and influence of Buddhism, Buddhist and religious studies, the meeting of Buddhism with western culture and more.
Journal of Global Buddhism
Dedicated to the study of the globalization of Buddhism, both historical and contemporary, and its transnational and transcontinental interrelatedness.
Buddhism, Law & Society
The first interdisciplinary academic journal to focus on Buddhist law, intersections among Buddhism, law, and society, and law in Asian and global Buddhist contexts. Legal and social analyses of historical and contemporary Buddhism are a central area of interest for the journal, as are relations between Buddhism and politics.

Find Background Information

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: BQ 128 E62 2004 (both print and ebook available)

ISBN: 0028657187

Publication Date: 2005

This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Buddhism by Professor Paul Williams (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: BQ 118 B83 2005 (print)

ISBN: 0415332265

Publication Date: 2005

This eight-volume set brings together seminal papers in Buddhist studies from a vast range of academic disciplines, published over the last forty years. With a new introduction by the editor, this collection is a unique and unrivalled research resource for both student and scholar.
The Buddhists : encyclopaedia of Buddhism by compiled and edited by Subodh Kapoor
Call Number: BQ 128 B82 2001

ISBN: 8177550683

Publication Date: 2001 (print)

The Encyclopaedia contains articles on all significant topics related to Buddhism and its manifested schools and thoughts. It also aims, further, at containing articles on Buddhists beliefs or customs, and on every ethical movement, every philosophical idea, and every moral practice. All the persons and places as are famous in the history of Buddhist religion have been included. The Encyclopaedia therefore embraces the whole range of theology and philosophy; together will the relevant portions of Anthropology, Mythology, Folklore, Psychology, Education, Economics, Sciences and Sociology.

Find Books and E-Books

Search Techniques
Guide page listing main techniques for searching the library and library databases. Including: Narrowing your search, Keywords and subject headings, Truncation and wildcards, Boolean operators, Limiters and field-specific searching

Find books using the Library Catalogue

Search the Library catalogue to locate books, government documents, audio-visuals, electronic resources, and other non-journal materials in the various Library locations.

Use the catalogue's Author, Title, or Subject Heading indexes if you wish to locate materials whose authors or titles you already know.

Your History Librarian

Hi, I'm Romany.

If you have questions about searching, accessing, evaluating, using, or citing information I am here to help. Email me at romany.craig@uleth.ca or book an appointment time (in-person or virtual appointments are available. One-on-one or group appointments equally welcome).