Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential Websites - Theatre and Dramatic Arts
American Variety Stage
Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory Project, the site includes 257 English scripts and 77 Yiddish scripts, 146 playbills and programs, 61 silent films of performances (available in various viewing platforms), and numerous early records (RealAudio or WAV).
Internet Broadway Database
The official database for Broadway theater information from the earliest days to the present and it remains one of the finest e-resources for the Great White Way
Lortel Archives: the Internet Off-Broadway Database
Thus far the sponsoring organization, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and its archivists have entered data from complete Off-Broadway seasons from the present back to 1958--approximately 4,500 individual shows. The intention is to continue adding historical shows.
Performing arts in America, 1875-1923
Created and maintained by The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts and funded in part by the National Endowment for the Arts, this site makes available a sample of the library's extensive holdings in the history of performing arts.
The New Deal Stage: Selections for the Federal Theatre Project, 1935-1939
Offers an opportunity to view primary source documents of theatrical productions sponsored under the Works Progress Administration (WPA), Federal Theatre Project (FTP) from 1935 to 1939.
Voice of Dance
Includes a free newsletter and an impressive directory for finding dance classes and various service providers (instructors, agents, studios, fund-raisers, photographers, etc.) around the globe.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
An online database that provides access to more than 3000 digitized items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera and complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.
Essential Websites - Film Studies