LibGuides: Theatre and Drama Resources: Film Studies

Finding books

Search our library catalogue by Title or Author if you already know the book you are looking for. Remember to type the Author's last name first!

Search by KEYWORD if you don't know the Subject Heading or if you are looking for something in an Anthology or Collection of essays. Browse your results, using the assigned Subject Headings to find more books on your topic.

Search by Subject Heading to find additional books on your topic, or books about a particular film or filmmaker. Examples of the types of subject headings you can use:

Finding newspaper, magazine and journal articles

Database Subject Listing
Use the library's databases to find articles in newspapers, magazines and journals. For a complete listing of relevant databases check under the subject of DRAMATIC ARTS databases on the library's homepage.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access full-text articles on the topics of film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
Online feature films from Criterion Pictures that include feature films and documentaries from Twentieth Century Fox, Dreamworks, Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros., Alliance Films, The Weinstein Company, Mongrel Media, and more.

Note: Twentieth Century Fox titles are limited to on-campus use only. In addition, operating systems do not officially support DRM and therefore Criterion On Demand will not work on mobile devices.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the subjects of dance, film, television, drama, recorded sound, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.

Theatre and Drama Resources

Finding books

Finding newspaper, magazine and journal articles

Book sampler...

Reference book sampler...

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library