Style Guides

Consult this guide for help with popular styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago. It's a great place to start!

The following resources provide excellent examples of how to correctly cite Canadian government and legal documents:

Citing Canadian government documents: APA style

Citing Canadian government documents: MLA Style

Citing Canadian Government Documents - Chicago Style, 15th Edition

Handbooks

Routledge Handbook of Social and Cultural Theory by Anthony Elliott (Editor) If today students of social theory read Jurgen Habermas, Michael Foucault and Anthony Giddens, then proper regard to the question of culture means that they should also read Raymond Williams, Julia Kristeva and Slavoj Zizek. The second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Social and Cultural Theory is fully revised and updated to provide students, teachers and researchers with a comprehensive, critical guide to the major traditions of thought in social and cultural theory, as well as tracing the complex intellectual connections between these distinct but related approaches to understanding society and culture. The Handbook, edited by acclaimed sociologist Anthony Elliott, develops a powerful argument for bringing together social and cultural theory more systematically than ever before. Key social and cultural theories, ranging from classical approaches to postmodern, psychoanalytic and post-feminist approaches, are drawn together and critically appraised. There are also new chapters on mobilities and migrations, as well as posthumanism. The Handbook, written in a clear and direct style will appeal to a wide audience of students and scholars. The extensive references and sources will direct students to areas of further study.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2021
The SAGE Handbook of Sociology
Call Number: HM 586 S24 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Library Main Collection
The Oxford Handbook of Cultural Sociology
Call Number: HM 621 O94 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Library Main Collection
Handbook of Sociology of Aging
Call Number: HQ 1061 H3354 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Library Main Collection
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender
Publication Date: 2006
Available online

Additional Help

Questions about plagiarism? Learn more about why and when to cite. Consult this guide for useful information.

Need help with your writing? Visit the Writing Centre.

Writing in Sociology

Effective Writing for Sociology: A Guide for Researchers and Students by Ben Lennox Kail; Robert V. Kail Writing well is an essential skill for sociologists, but few books help students learn to write well. Designed to help students produce a manuscript that is clear, concise, and compelling, Effective Writing for Sociology demonstrates and deconstructs what makes effective writing and how best to communicate scholarly ideas. The first half of the book addresses the fundamentals of good writing: writing clearly, conveying emphasis, writing concisely, and crafting effective paragraphs. The second half then looks to the three most important sections of a research report: framing an introduction, reporting results, and discussing findings. Each chapter of the book describes strategies for effective writing, illustrated with multiple examples and providing exercises where students can try their hand at implementing these strategies. The Epilogue provides tips on choosing a title as well as writing an abstract and method section; it also includes suggestions on how to master the tips described  in the lessons. Ben Lennox Kail and Robert V. Kail's book is essential reading in courses on research methods, qualitative methods, quantitative methods, sociological writing, and social science writing in allied disciplines such as education, criminology, health, and all research fields.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
The Writer's Handbook for Sociology by Dona J. Young The Writer's Handbook for Sociology gives students the tools that they need to develop evidence-based writing skills and format academic papers in American Psychological Association (APA) and American Sociological Association (ASA) style. This book helps learners develop a reader-friendly writing style incorporating active voice, parallel structure, and conciseness. In addition, grammar and mechanics are presented in a systematic way to facilitate learning, helping students fill learning gaps.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019
Writing for Emerging Sociologists by Angelique C. Harris; Alia R. Tyner-Mullings A writing guide designed for upper-level sociology undergraduate students and graduate students, this instructional text introduces students to the variety of writing projects that sociologists undertake, while also providing instruction on grammar and composition. It will provide students with practical knowledge concerning topics such as: peer reviewed journal manuscripts, book reviews, grant proposals, and field notes. What makes this book unique is that it offers useful advice and instruction for sociology college students whether they plan on entering the academy or the private, non-profit, or government sectors. Writing for Emerging Sociologists uses writing as a tool to help students learn not only about sociology as a field of study, but also the practice of sociology.
Call Number: HM 569 H37 2013
Publication Date: 2013

Writing for Publication

Academic Writing and Publishing by James Hartley
Publication Date: 2008
This ebook is aimed at scholars in the social sciences writing for publication.

Sociology

Style Guides

Citing Canadian government documents: APA style

Citing Canadian government documents: MLA Style

Citing Canadian Government Documents - Chicago Style, 15th Edition

Handbooks

Additional Help

Writing in Sociology

Writing for Publication

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library