LibGuides: Legal Resources : Secondary Sources

About Secondary Legal Research Sources

Books, e-books, law reports, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and journal articles are considered secondary legal sources. They often provide valuable contextual information.
Consult these secondary legal resources for clarification of terms and concepts as well as explanations of the law and how it is interpreted.
Beginning your research with secondary sources can be useful in pointing out relevant cases and legislation.
Secondary sources, written by legal experts, provide useful analysis of a laws scope and impact.

Journals

Journal articles discuss primary sources of law such as legislation and legal cases. They often provide explanations and analysis of a law or case's scope and impact.

Some journal titles focus on particular jurisdictions such as the Alberta Law Review, while others focus on particular topics within law such as the Human Rights Law Review.
There are many law journals available through various databases at the University of Lethbridge Library.

Dictionaries, Legal -- Examples [Online]

Dictionary of Law [ONLINE]
Call Number: KF 156 D53 2007
Publication Date: 2012
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law [ONLINE]
Publication Date: 2012

Dictionaries, Legal -- Examples [Print]

Canadian Law Dictionary by Catherine Cotter; Stephen G. Coughlan; John A. Yogis
Call Number: KE 183 Y63 2013, UofL Reference Collection
Publication Date: 2013
Black's Law Dictionary, Tenth edition by Bryan A. Garner; Henry Campbell Black
Call Number: KF 156 B53 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Dictionary of Canadian Law by Daphne A. Dukelow; Betsy Nuse
Call Number: KE 183 D85 1995
Publication Date: 1994

Legal Casebooks & E-Books - Examples

Casebooks contain excepts from cases, reviews and other sources useful in a specific area of law.

SEARCH TIP: Include keyword term "casebook" when using Library discovery tools (e.g., Summon search, catalogue).

Aboriginal Peoples and the Law [E-Book] by Jim Reynolds The Truth and Reconciliation Commission urged a better understanding of Aboriginal law for all Canadians. This book responds to that call, outlining significant legal developments in straightforward, non-technical language. Jim Reynolds provides the historical context needed to understand the relationship between Indigenous peoples and settlers and explains key topics such as sovereignty, fiduciary duties, the honour of the Crown, Aboriginal rights and title, treaties, the duty to consult, Indigenous laws, and international law. He concludes that rather than leaving the judiciary to sort out essentially political issues, politicians need to take responsibility for this crucial aspect of building a just society.
Publication Date: 2018
Social Work and the Courts [E-Resource] by Daniel Pollack; Toby G. Kleinmam Social Work and the Courts is a compendium of the most recent and important legal cases in social work and social welfare. Its dissection and analysis of crucial cases makes it an excellent tool for teaching social workers to understand the legal system and its operation. The book demonstrates how courts view and deal with the performance, action, and conduct of social workers and their agencies. This second edition includes more case studies, paying particular attention to recent cases on foster care and child welfare. In addition, a new section on "References and Further Readings" has been added to the end of each chapter along with an update bibliography and Internet bibliography so that readers may easily find supplementary information.
Publication Date: 2021
International Law, Cases and Commentary, 4th
Call Number: KZ 1242.5 J36 2011
Publication Date: 2010

Encyclopedias, Legal - Examples

Philosophy of Law : An Encyclopedia [ONLINE]
Publication Date: 1999
Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology
Call Number: Reference TP 248.16 M87 2000 v. 1 & v. 2
Publication Date: 2000
The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition
Call Number: Reference KF 8204 E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law
Call Number: Main Collection KF 8205 E525 2009 v. 1 & v. 2
Publication Date: 2008
Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, Western. 2nd Ed. Volumes are organized alphabetically by Subject Title, such as Contract, Criminal Law, Evidence and Family Law. Within these volumes the subject area is further divided into several sub-headings and points of law. Summaries of each point of law are set out under each heading with footnotes referring you to supporting case law and statutes. Each Subject Title has a supplement, (printed on yellow or grey-edged paper in the front of each volume) which gives updated information.
Call Number: Main Collection KE 180 C36 1956
Publication Date: 1956-1977

Law Reports

Law reports are compilations of judicial opinions for case law. Judicial opinions include the rationale and principals or explanation of a judges ruling in a particular case. In Canada each province has an official report series. The Federal Court, Tax Court and Supreme Court of Canada also have their own report series.

Search for law reports using the following subject headings:

Legal Resources

About Secondary Legal Research Sources

Journals

Dictionaries, Legal -- Examples [Online]

Dictionaries, Legal -- Examples [Print]

Legal Casebooks & E-Books - Examples

Encyclopedias, Legal - Examples

Law Reports

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library