Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases Containing Primary Legal Sources
Start with the following Databases & Indexes to locate legal materials.
CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new window
Access primary sources of Canadian law, including the legislative and judicial texts, as well as legal commentaries, from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. Also includes links to law information in other countries.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline contains more than 183 million pages and 283,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic provides indexing and full text content for more than 5,600 sources including U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, and Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789.
Summon Search for Journal Articles