Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art Database
Documenting information for Canadian artists with over 62,000 images and 3000 texts the site includes artist CVs, bibliographies and links to artists websites.
National Gallery of Canada Online Showcases
Showcasing individual artists and themes in Canadian Art.
Canadian Women Artists History Initiative
Includes biographical and bibliographical information on historical Canadian women artists.
Artists in Canada
Compiled and maintained by the National Gallery of Canada Library, this database identifies the location of files on over 42,700 Canadian artists in libraries and art galleries across Canada. Includes artisans, painters, sculptors, printmakers, architects, and others
Art Canada Institute
The Art Canada Institute publishes free e-books about Canadian artists--find books about Tom Thompson, Emily Carr, General Idea, and many more.
Peel's Prairie Provinces
Search an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies.
Content: Monographs, newspaper issues, postcards, maps
Alberta Heritage Digitization Project (AHDP)
Access a wide range of personal, community, business, and governmental perspectives on Alberta's art, culture and history. Collections include the full-text of early Albertan newspapers (1880 to 2001 when complete).