Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Student Resources: Other Resources: Public Library

A University of Lethbridge Library guide to International Student resources.

Read On: Adult Literacy Services

Read On at the Lethbridge Public Library provides reading, writing, computer, speaking, and listening classes to adults at a low-cost. 

To find a listing of the current classes visit the Read On website at: http://www.lethlib.ca/readon 

The Lethbridge Public Library also has a number of print and digital resources that are useful to students who are studying English or preparing to take English Language proficiency or Canadian citizenship tests. 

English Language Learning Resources

Writing English: The Canadian Handbook 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Crossings Branch 
Call Number: LPLW 808.042 W 

Crafting a piece of writing, for any variety of rhetorical purposes, requires a fundamental understanding of English. Offering unparalleled guidance to the intricacies of the language, Writing English: The Canadian Handbook is an essential tool for writers, students, business people, and anyone who works with the written word in Canada.In a single volume, this guidebook explains basic rules of grammar, spelling, punctuation, and style; how to write comprehensive sentences and organize paragraphs; how to document your work and avoid plagiarism; and much more. 

Perfecting your English Pronunciation by Susan Cameron 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO ESL 428.34 C RLI  

The 45-minute DVD introduces you to mouth and jaw exercises to prepare you for English, then demonstrates mouth formations and tongue placement using other nonnative speakers like you. You will see and hear how English sounds--enabling you to become more and more comfortable conversing with native English speakers as you go through the program.

Oxford Idioms Dictionary for Learners of English 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO 428.2 O RL6 

A clear and accessible dictionary that explains over 10,000 frequently-used idioms.

 

Read On Classes

Note: These are examples of classes that Read On has hosted in the past, for up-to-date class listings visit  http://www.lethlib.ca/readon 

Conversation Classes: ranging from low-beginner to high-intermediate. In these classes students are able to practice their speaking and listening skills with peers. Also available are classes on Creative Conversations (learn about Canada, our culture, and your new community), Community Life (learn about living in Lethbridge and visit areas of local interest), and Speechcraft (for students with good English skills who wish to improve their confidence speaking in front of others). 

Class 7 Driver Training Course: instructor will assist with preparing students for their Alberta Class 7 Driving Test ("learners") knowledge test. 

​Canadian Citizenship Test Prep: this class is designed to help you pass the Canadian Citizenship Test. It will involve homework and several practice tests throughout the course. 

IELTS and CELPIP Prep Courses: These courses will help prepare you for the reading and writing (IELTS) or listening and speaking (CELPIP) portions of the English proficiency tests. 

Contact Read On

Website: www.lethlib.ca/readon

Email: literacyservices@lethlib.ca 

Phone: 403-320-4977 Elizabeth 
             403-320-3133 Margaret 

Lethbridge Public Library
Main Branch 
810 5 Ave South
Lethbridge, Alberta 
T1J 4C4 

Test Preparation Resources

Discover Canada: the Rights and Responsibilities of Citizenship 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO 323.6 D RL6 

Discover Canada can be used to study for the citizenship test. This resource contains information about the history of Canada, how Canadian government works, symbols of Canada, and its regions. This resource is also available for free online

Know Canada! A Plain Language Study Guide for the Citizenship Exam by Sheena Roes 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO 323.6 R RL6 

A plain language version of the popular citizenship test resource "Discover Canada: the Rights and Responsibilities of Citizenship". 

Barron's IELTS by Lin Lougheed 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch 
Call Number: 428.2407 L 2016 4TH-ED 

Reviews all question types covered by the International English Language Testing System, offers four practice tests, and includes audio portions of the test on CDs.

CELPIP Focus: Listening and Speaking 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO 428.24076 C RL4 

This textbook provides you with the tools and strategies to succeed on the Listening and Speaking components of the CELPIP-General and CELPIP-General LS Tests. It explains the format of the test, how test questions are structured, and includes practice questions, skill-building activities, and more.

CELPIP Focus: Reading and Writing 
Location: Lethbridge Public Library Main Branch (Read On Literacy Area) 
Call Number: RO 428.24076 C RL4 

This textbook provides you with the tools and strategies to succeed on the Reading and Writing components of the CELPIP-General Test. It explains the format of the test, how test questions are structured, and includes practice questions, skill-building activities, and more.