Articles & Data - MKTG 2020 — Marketing - LibGuides at University of Lethbridge

Finding Journal Articles

Journal articles contain more up-to-date research than books, and are a great way to supplement your research. The U of L Library subscribes to many indexes and databases which allow you to search by keyword, subject, and many more fields (ie. company; product; geography; person) to find articles on your topic. These tools provide not only the citation for the articles, but usually also abstracts (a summary of what the article is about) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text isn't available either from the database in which you found the citation or by clicking the 'find full text' button, you can request the article via interlibrary loan. Remember that if your subject is somewhat multidisciplinary, databases from other subject areas may help. Database search tips

Statistics

Statistics
For more Canadian and International statistics, check our our Numeric Data and Statistics Guide

Brand Reputation/Consumer Preferences/Demographic/Market Data

Ipsos Canadian Public Affairs Dataverse [Wilfrid Laurier University]
An open-access collection of 60+ Ipsos Canada surveys. The data come from a range of opinion polls and surveys on topics such as national and provincial politics, real estate buying habits, and Canadian heritage, among others.

Social Media Data

Social Media Fact Sheet
From the Pew Research Center, some interesting stats on social media use in the US

Marketing/PR Websites

Quirk's
Contains a searchable archive of marketing research articles.
Institute for Public Relations
The web site from this independent nonprofit organization contains information centered on research, education, and education-industry affairs. The Research tab provides bibliographies, case studies, papers, and reports on more than 20 relevant PR topics; abstracts and free PDF links direct readers to material written by academics and practitioners. Other relevant sections as well.

Recommended Marketing Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistics, infographics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
Search journals in areas related to communication and mass media, such as journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory, and advertising. Also features over 5,000 author profiles and searchable cited references.

Advertising Age
A leading advertising trade publication; free access to up to 10 articles/month with free registration (other content available for a fee).

APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Relevant to the study of consumer behaviour.
APA PsycARTICLES [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), this database provides full text scholarly journal articles covering academic, research and practice literature in psychology, neuroscience, psychiatry, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. NOTE: Click on Journals@Ovid Full Text for the link.

Database Searching

General Management Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global contains content from business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,722 active global OA journals. Access business information by product, company, industry code, and stock ticker in addition to usual search fields. Provides detailed company information and data that covers all disciplines of business.

Content: Data, Magazines, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains information from over 10,000 news, legal and business sources. It includes the coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access articles in health sciences, social sciences & humanities, material sciences & engineering, and life & biomedical sciences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access scientific, technical and health research that span over 24 major scientific disciplines.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, data sets

MKTG 2020 — Marketing: Articles & Data

Finding Journal Articles

Statistics

Brand Reputation/Consumer Preferences/Demographic/Market Data

Social Media Data

Marketing/PR Websites

Recommended Marketing Databases

Database Searching

General Management Databases

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library