English Literature and Language Resources: Websites

See what CHOICE magazine recommends as the BEST internet sites!

GENERAL LITERATURE

• Aesopica.net: Aesop's fables online provides 1,418 full-text English translations of the fables and 646 Latin translations and 780 original Greek texts

• The Dartmouth Dante Project a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia
• Romantic Circles  a refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.

CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

• International Children's Digital Library This collection contains more than 10,000 digitized children's books in 54 languages--including many award-winning books--and boasts users in more than 166 countries with more than a million visits since 2002.

AMERICAN LITERATURE

• African American Women Writers of the 19th Century  a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19^th-century black women writers.
• Dickinson electronic archives devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work
• Library of Southern Literature includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924
• PAL: perspectives in American literature quick and convenient reference to the major movements and various authors in American literature
• Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture provides easy access to innumerable astounding primary and secondary sources

• The Walt Whitman Archive an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.

CANADIAN LITERATURE

• CanLit Guides are open educational resources created and maintained by UBC's Canadian Literature

LITERATURE OF THE UK

• The Carlyle Letters Online includes over 10,000 of the collected letters of  Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle
• The Dickens Project a scholarly consortium of the University of California devoted to promoting the study and enjoyment of the life, times, and work of Charles Dickens
• Luminarium an English literature anthology site of longstanding
• Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet an annotated guide to the scholarly Shakespeare resources available on Interne
• Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive providing access to Shakespeare resources worldwide

DRAMA

• The Zora Neale Hurston plays a selection of ten plays written by Hurston

POETRY

• Poetry Society of America the nation's oldest poetry organization, founded in 1910 for the purpose of creating a public forum for the advancement, enjoyment, and understanding of poetry
• Poets.org  the award-winning website of the Academy of American Poets

THEORY, LANGUAGE and CREATIVE WRITING

• The OWL at Purdue the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University. Contains a multitude resources for writing help.
• The Paris Review: The Interviews a vital research tool for anyone interested in literature and/or creative writing