LibGuides: English Literature and Language Resources: American Literature

Finding reference sources

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Find articles in more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 259 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Reference book sampler...

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature
ISBN: 031333059X
The Cambridge Companion to American Crime Fiction
ISBN: 978-0-521-19937-7
Jewish-American Literature
ISBN: 9780816060856

Finding Books

Search our library catalogue by Title or Author if you already know the book you are looking for. Remember to type the Author's last name first!

Search by KEYWORD if you don't know the Subject Heading or if you are looking for something in an Anthology or Collection of essays. Browse your results, using the assigned Subject Headings to find more books on your topic.

Search by Subject Heading to find additional books on your topic, or books about a particular author. Examples of the types of subject headings you can use:

American literature
American literature - Indian authors
American literature - Mexican American authors
American literature - women authors
United States in literature
African Americans in literature
Postmodernism (Literature) - United States
Women in literature - United States
Stein, Gertrude
Ida

Book sampler...

Tricksterism in Turn-of-the-Century American Literature
ISBN: 978-0-87451-680-7
Poets in the Public Sphere - The Emancipatory Project of American Women's Poetry, 1800-1900
ISBN: 978-0-691-02645-9
Love and Death in the American Novel
ISBN: 978-1-56478-163-5
American Novel Now
ISBN: 978-1-4051-6757-4

Finding newspaper, magazine and journal articles

Database Subject Listing
Use the library's databases to find articles in newspapers, magazines and journals. For a complete listing of relevant databases check under the subjects of ENGLISH databases on the library's homepage.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Find articles pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, historical aspects of printing and publishing, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles in more than one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Which newspapers, magazines & journals do we have?

By broad subject area:

American Literature

English Literature and Language Resources: American Literature

Finding reference sources

Reference book sampler...

Finding Books

Book sampler...

Finding newspaper, magazine and journal articles

Which newspapers, magazines & journals do we have?

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library