LibGuides: Finance: Articles & Data

Investment Research

BigCharts
Access professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary.

Historical stock quotes also available: http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/historical/
Historical Dow Jones
Historical S&P 500
Investors.com
Zacks Investment Research
Barron's Financial Investment News
Reuters
News, market information, and country-specific info.
Yahoo Finance
Google Finance

Demographic Data and Statistics

Statistics Canada Data Portal This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada Data Portal is Statistics Canada's key socioeconomic database. Updated daily, Statistics Canada Data Portal provides access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada.

U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces economic accounts statistics on the U.S. economy. They collect source data, conduct research and analysis, develop and implement estimation methodologies, and disseminate statistics to the public.
US Department of the Treasury
The Treasury Department is the executive agency responsible for promoting economic prosperity and ensuring the financial security of the United States. Areas of concern, available through this site, are Coins and Currency; Economy; Illicit Finance; Financial Markets; International; and Taxes.
Federal Reserve Bank
This links to the Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, which is not only a region-specific site but has tons of great national content as well, including 'Ask Dr. Econ', a search engine for 'Fed in Print', and of course still links to the main Federal Reserve Board site. Tons of economic research and data, including a data download program, available.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF monitors economic and financial development and provides policy advice in countries worldwide. The site contains country information, including data, stats, and other IMF publications such as World Economic Outlook, Global Financial Stability Report, & Fiscal Monitor.

Databases for Finance Information

Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
WRDS provides access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics. Datasets included: Intraday Indicators by WRDS, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE Indexes, Compustat Captial IQ, (Research Insight), Contributed Data, CRSP, DMEF Academic Data, Dow Jones, Fama French & Liquidity Factors, Federal Reserve Bank, Macro Finance Society, MSRB, OTC Markets, Penn World Tables, Peters and Taylor Total Q, PHLX, Public, Research Quotient, SEC Order Execution, TRACE, FactSet.
Users must create a login to access WRDS after agreeing to the terms of usage.

WRDS Help Modules
Instructional videos for CRSP, Compustat, and more.

CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) is a vendor of historical time series data on securities. The CRSP database includes CRSP US Stock and CRSP Historical Indexes.

CRSP US Stock data includes data from NYSE, Amex, NASDAQ, and NYSE Arca stock exchanges. CRSP Historical Indexes database provides a wide range of indexes that can be used as benchmarks of market performance. The combination of portfolio results and assignment data provided with CRSP index files added to the security data in CRSP stock files allows a comparison of securities against comparative benchmarks.

Content: Data, Indexes, Statistics

SEDI (System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders)
Canada's service for the filing and viewing of insider reports as required by various provincial securities rules and regulations.

TSX e-review (Toronto Stock Exchange Review)
Call Number: online
Publication Date: current
The Toronto Stock Exchange Review

SEDAR+ This link opens in a new window
SEDAR+ is a secure web-based system used by all market participants to file, disclose and search for information in Canada's capital markets.

On July 25, 2023, SEDAR+ consolidated and replaced SEDAR, the national Cease Trade Order (CTO) database, the Disciplined List (DL) database and certain filings currently made in paper or in the British Columbia Securities Commission’s eServices system and the Ontario Securities Commission’s electronic filing portal. SEDAR+ also includes a consolidated reporting issuers list from all provincial and territorial regulators.

Content: Canadian, Free Access
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) This link opens in a new window
Access most public securities documents and information filed by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
IMF (International Montary Fund) eLibrary This link opens in a new window
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

Financial Performance Data (Canada)
Financial data based on industry averages - based on 2015 data.
more...less...
Financial Performance Data provides access to more than 1000 industries across Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks to help small businesses determine how they measure up to their competitors.

Reports feature the number of businesses in the selected industry, statistics for profitable and non-profitable small and medium-sized businesses that includes net profits and net losses, and detailed financial data on revenues and expenses, industry average's for income statements and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios. Reports are marked with quality indicators that measure of the amount of imputation contributing towards a given value.

The reports are representative of all businesses operating within the specified industry and geographic area and earning revenues ranges of $30 thousand to $5 million and $5 million to $20 million in total annual revenues and by profit margin.

Knotia This link opens in a new window
Knotia.ca contains Canada's most comprehensive collection of tax, accounting, finance, and other business information resources.
UN Comtrade Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to United Nations statistics, including international economic, social, financial and development topics.

Nonprofit Explorer
A free tool for researching the finances of nonprofit organizations.

Public Policy Research Databases

Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
CD Howe Institute
The C.D. Howe Institute is Canada's leading nonpartisan public policy think tank. Publications are available from the Institute's five research areas: Fiscal and Monetary Policy; Social Policy; Governance and Public Institutions; International and Trade; and Economic Growth and Innovation
World Bank
The Publications section of this site contains thousands of free, downloadable documents - the Data section, free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
The Treasury Board is responsible for accountability and ethics, financial, personnel and administrative management, comptrollership, approving regulations and most Orders-in-Council.

General Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global contains content from business and management publications worldwide, covering advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,722 active global OA journals. Access business information by product, company, industry code, and stock ticker in addition to usual search fields. Provides detailed company information and data that covers all disciplines of business.

Content: Data, Magazines, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains information from over 10,000 news, legal and business sources. It includes the coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.

Finance: Articles & Data

Finding Journal Articles

Investment Research

Demographic Data and Statistics

Databases for Finance Information

Public Policy Research Databases

General Business Databases

Database Searching

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library