Marketing
A University of Lethbridge Library guide to Marketing research and resources.
About Reference
Reference materials - such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, textbooks, etc - can provide a good overview of a subject and lead you to further related resources, and are a great place to start your research.
Reference Materials
The handbook of marketing research : uses, misuses, and future advances by Call Number: HF 5415.2 H286 2006ISBN: 141290997XPublication Date: c2006
The Routledge Companion to Consumer Behavior Analysis by
The Routledge Companion to Consumer Behavior Analysis provides a unique and eclectic combination of behavioral, cognitive and environmental perspectives to illuminate the real-world complexities of consumer choice in a marketing-oriented economy. Edited by a leading authority in the field, the contributing authors have created a unique anthology for understanding consumer preference by bringing together the very latest research and thinking in consumer behavior analysis. This comprehensive and innovative volume ranges over a broad multi-disciplinary perspective from economic psychology, behavioral psychology and experimental economics, but its chief focus is on the critical evaluation of consumer choice in the natural settings of affluent, marketing-oriented economies. By focussing on human economic and social choices, which involve social exchange, it explores and reveals the enormous potential of consumer behavior analysis to illuminate the role of modern marketing-oriented business organizations in shaping and responding to consumer choice. This will be of particular interest to academics, researchers and advanced students in marketing, consumer behavior, behavior analysis, social psychology, behavioral economics and behavioral psychology.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781317913467Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Handbook of Public Relations by Call Number: HD 59 H267 2010ISBN: 9781412977814Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns by Call Number: HF 5837 E53 2000 (reference)ISBN: 078763042XPublication Date: 2000 (Volume 1)
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
This completely new second volume explores nearly 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns from 1999-2005. Entries profile recent print, radio, television, billboard and internet campaigns. Both major marketing campaigns of new companies and new product campaigns from well-established companies are covered. Historical context is provided along with the expected and actual outcomes of each campaigns. Photos and sidebars enhance the text.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781414406077Publication Date: 2007 (Volume 2)
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
"This completely new third volume of Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands from 2011-2012. Entries will profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and television strategies amongst other types. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as ""war stories"" by professors. "
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781414499215Publication Date: 2013 (Volume 3)
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies by
Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands and social movements from 2015-2018. Entries profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and other media strategies. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as "war stories" by professors.'
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781410389343Publication Date: 2019 (Volume 4)
Online Reference Tools
- Quirk'sContains a searchable archive of marketing research articles.
Open Access Textbooks
- Flat World Knowledge: Open Source Business and Economics TextbooksYou may get lucky and find basic information on your topic in one of these texts!
Market Research Reference
Questionnaire Design by
Questionnaires are vital for the market researcher: they draw accurate information from respondents, give structure to interviews, provide a standard form on which facts, comments and attitudes can be recorded and facilitate data processing. Questionnaire Design explains the role of questionnaires in market research and looks at different types of questionnaire, examining when and how they should be deployed. The book explains how to plan, structure and compose the right questionnaire for the research being undertaken. Fully updated with new content on encouraging respondent involvement through the gamification of questionnaires, this third edition of Questionnaire Design also includes the latest information on online and mobile questionnaires, their problems and potential. This book will be a useful addition to the bookshelf of every student or practitioner of market research.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780749467807Publication Date: 2014
Designing Quality Survey Questions by
Surveys are a cornerstone of social and behavioral research, and with the use of web-based tools, surveys have become an easy and inexpensive means of gathering data. But how researchers ask a question can dramatically influence the answers they receive. Sheila B. Robinson and Kimberly Firth Leonard's Designing Quality Survey Questions shows readers how to craft high quality, precisely-worded survey questions that will elicit rich, nuanced, and ultimately useful data to help answer their research or evaluation questions. The authors address challenges such as crafting demographic questions, designing questions that keep respondents engaged and avoid survey fatigue, web-based survey formats, culturally-responsive survey design, and factors that influence survey responses. Additionally, "Stories from the Field" features provide real world experiences from practitioners who share lessons learned about survey design, and end-of-chapter exercises and discussion questions allow readers to apply the information they've learned.
Call Number: HM 538 R63 2019ISBN: 9781506330549Publication Date: 2019
Basic and Advanced Focus Groups by
Basic and Advanced Focus Groups illustrates both the different types of focus groups and how to decide among those options in order to produce the most effective focus groups possible. A variety of approaches to doing research with focus groups gives readers the tools to develop and examine their research designs, starting with the basics. Advanced coverage in each chapter takes an in-depth look at topics such as moderating focus groups, using mixed methods, and working with different sizes of groups. By taking a practical, applied approach, the author gives even novice students the knowledge and confidence to design and conduct effective focus group research, while simultaneously providing more advanced researchers with the tools and knowledge to refine their current practices.
Call Number: H 61.28 M668 2019ISBN: 9781506327112Publication Date: 2019
Cognitive Interviewing by
The design and evaluation of questionnaires--and of other written and oral materials--is a challenging endeavor, fraught with potential pitfalls. Cognitive Interviewing: A Tool for Improving Questionnaire Design describes a means of systematically developing survey questions through investigations that intensively probe the thought processes of individuals who are presented with those inquiries. The work provides general guidance about questionnaire design, development, and pre-testing sequence, with an emphasis on the cognitive interview. In particular, the book gives detailed instructions about the use of verbal probing techniques, and how one can elicit additional information from subjects about their thinking and about the manner in which they react to tested questions. These tools help researchers discover how well their questions are working, where they are failing, and determine what they can do to rectify the wide variety of problems that may surface while working with questionnaires.
Call Number: H 61.28 W55 2005ISBN: 0761928049Publication Date: 2005
