LibGuides: Agricultural Studies: Research Articles

Databases for Agriculture

Databases (or indexes, as they were once known) are used to search for topics when you are beginning your research and are not familiar with the literature on the topic.

UofL Databases selected to support Agricultural Studies
In this list there are both "Recommended" and "Related" databases. The recommended databases have been selected because they have a lot of relevance to the area of Agricultural Studies as taught at the UofL. The related databases may be are more multidisciplinary but are still relevant to the topic.

To begin, use a keyword(s) search of your choosing and then examine the records returned to you. When you see a citation of interest, examine the subject headings or descriptors or assigned keywords. Use these words as a topic or subject search to make the search more relevant to your interest.
UofL Databases — General listing by title
Don't give up ... check out the entire list of databases available through the University Library.

Journal on specifically on Agriculture

The Library as access to thousands of journals independently as well as through its consortial agreements with Canadian Knowledge Research Network, Council of Prairie & Pacific University Libraries, and The Alberta Library.

For those things that the Library does not have access to directly, feel free to submit an interlibrary loan

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
... browse by DOAJ subject categories.
Elsevier ScienceDirect
... fulltext journals in the Agriculture/Biology based on ScienceDirect subject categories.
Wiley Interscience Journals
... fulltext journals in Agriculture based on Wiley subject categories and limited to journals only.
ACSessDL (Digital Library of The American Society of Agronomy)
The ACSESS Digital Library (the Alliance of Crop, Soil & Environmental Science Societies) is a complete collection of all content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. The Digital Library makes it possible to search, browse, research, comment on, and share all of our published literature in one convenient place.

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics This link opens in a new window
AgEcon Search provides scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development.

Journals in General

Wondering if the UofL subscribes to a specific journal?
This lookup function will tell you whether the UofL has access to a given journal, a given year/volume of the journal and where, within the universe of the University of Lethbridge, that journal is located — whether in print, electronic, or microform format.

Be sure to take note of the range of years available. Many of our electronically-delivered journals have embargos of weeks to years depending on the journal.

If the Library does not subscribe to a given journal or to the particular issue of interest, please do use interlibrary loan. You will be notified by email when your article is available and, whenever possible, that email will include a link to the PDF so that you may retrieve it for your personal use.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
ULRICHSWEB.com introduces you to the world of journals, generally. Access authoritative bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 international periodicals including academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc. Access information such as ISSN and title, publisher, online availability, language, subject area, abstracting & indexing coverage, searchable tables of contents, and full-text reviews.

Locate the most up-to-date information about serials, including active titles, suspended titles, ceased titles (from 1974), and forthcoming titles.

Agricultural Studies

Databases for Agriculture

Journal on specifically on Agriculture

Journals in General

Database Searching

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library