Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Dictionaries

This guide introduces you to some resources you may find useful while researching topics in Philosophy.

Why use dictionaries?

Dictionaries will help you define important concepts pertaining to your research paper topic. Consult the list to find suggested dictionaries that are available at the library. Click the links to see the library records for the books reccommended. This will show you the location and call number.  E-resources can be accessed from off-campus!

Use the terms you learn from dictionaries to continue your search using the library catalogue and electronic databases! 

General/Topic Specific Dictionaries

General dictionaries are resources that list words and provide their meaning or list words and give the equivalent word in a different language. This is an example of a regular English language dictionary. Click the link to see how it appears in the library's catalogue.

Concise Oxford English Dictionary 

UofL Reference Collection PE 1628 C68 2004 

 The University of Lethbridge also has access to the Oxford English Dictionary Online. This is an historical English Language dictionary that defines 6 000 000 words used today and in times gone by. Click the link to access this resource.

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

 

Topic specific dictionaries are resources in the same format as general dictionaries, but they are for one specific topic only. They will help you determine appropriate search terms for research. For example:

Dictionary of World Philosophy

UofL Reference Collection  B 41 I26 2001

The Dictionary of World Philosophy covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Providing an extremely comprehensive resource and an essential point of reference in a complex and expanding field of study the Dictionary covers all major subfields of the discipline.

Selected Philosophy dictionaries

E-Resources

Chat with Romany

chat loading...