Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference book sampler...
Finding reference sources
Search for reference sources in Summon using the search box above. Another strategy is to simply browse our Reference Collection by the relevant Library of Congress call numbers.
The library also subscribes to a variety of databases that provide or point to reference sources in our collection. Search one of the reference databases listed below:
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online,an authoritative source for music resources, includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Access reference material. Search through a world atlas, compare country facts and statistics and access world data analyst. Includes biographies and news articles.
Naxos Music Library (NML)
This Classical music listening service covers the genres of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk, Blues, Adult Contemporary, Nostalgia, Chinese music, Contemporary Instrumental and Pop and Rock. Users can select and listen to the music and simultaneously read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music from medieval to contemporary times, choral works, symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde with a particular focus on contemporary music and women composers. Users can listen to more than 50,000 tracks while simultaneously searching the reference database for relevant information on the musical pieces.
Canadian Reference Centre
Access the full text of Canadian magazines, reference books and newspapers.
Access reference material for chemistry and physics research. Features achievements of notable scientists, terminology, constants, units & conversion factors, as well as mathematical tables and sources of physical and chemical data.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access a collection of reference books covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, ranging from current events to classics and from Arts & Humanities to small business.