Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Geography - Human - LibGuides at University of Lethbridge

Human Geography Encyclopedias & Dictionaries: Examples

Examples of resources that provide background information on Human Geography topics and explain terminology used within the discipline.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Access reference material for all subjects including GEOGRAPHY.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies for GEOGRAPHY topics as well as other subject areas. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable. [***Click 'Subject List' to locate GEOGRAPHY topics***]

Concise encyclopedia of human geography [electronic resource] by edited by Loretta Lees With 78 specially commissioned entries written by a diverse range of contributors, this essential reference book covers the breadth and depth of human geography to provide a lively and accessible state of the art of the discipline for students, instructors and researchers.
Publication Date: 2023
Encyclopedia of Geography Terms, Themes, and Concepts {E-Resource] by Reuel R. Hanks How did the Greek geographer Eratosthenes make an accurate calculation of the earth's circumstance more than 1,500 years before the first voyage of Columbus to the New World? What are the "green belts" of England that dominate its rural landscape? And what is regarded as the driest continent on the planet? This handbook offers a broad coverage of terminology and concepts, serving as both an encyclopedic dictionary of geography terms and an approachable overview to the human and physical aspects of world geography. Approximately 150 geographic terms and concepts are defined and discussed, providing an accessible reference for anyone who requires a deeper knowledge of the language and ideas that are important to geography as a discipline. Helpful sidebars are provided to shed light on unusual or controversial theories and concepts. All major geographic concepts and terms are addressed and comprehensively explained using examples.
Publication Date: 2011
Geography Today: an Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology [ELECTRONIC RESOURCE] by Ian Muehlenhaus (Editor) Geography Today: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Issues, and Technology approaches the study of geography by concept, in contrast to most other works, which are organized by world region. Geography curriculums have been moving away from teaching the topic on a regional basis and toward teaching it through broader concepts. This is modeled by the National Geography Standards, the National Council for Geographic Education's Roadmap for 21st Century Geography Education, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Resource System, and ABC-CLIO's own geography advisory board, comprised of high school geography teachers from across the United States. By introducing geography concepts, Geography Today sets the foundation for readers to understand why certain geographies may be the way they are. It further helps high school geography students to apply concepts to different contexts with 101 geography terms, themes, and concepts for quick-reference research and study.
ISBN: 9781440872273
Publication Date: 2019
Cultural Geography: A Critical Dictionary of Key Concepts [ELECTRONIC RESOURCE] by David Atkinson (Editor); Peter Jackson (Editor); David Sibley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography [E-Resource] by Nuala C. Johnson; Richard H. Schein; Jamie Winders **Named a 2014 Choice Outstanding Academic Title** Combining coverage of key themes and debates from a variety of historical and theoretical perspectives, this authoritative reference volume offers the most up-to-date and substantive analysis of cultural geography currently available.  A significantly revised new edition covering a number of new topics such as biotechnology, rural, food, media and tech, borders and tourism, whilst also reflecting developments in established subjects including animal geographies Edited and written by the leading authorities in this fast-developing discipline, and features a host of new contributors to the second edition Traces the historical evolution of cultural geography through to the very latest research Provides an international perspective, reflecting the advancing academic traditions of non-Western institutions, especially in Asia Features a thematic structure, with sections exploring topics such as identities, nature and culture, and flows and mobility
Publication Date: 2013
Key Concepts in Political Geography by Carolyn Gallaher; Carl T. Dahlman; Mary Gilmartin; Alison Mountz; Peter Shirlow
Publication Date: 2009

Atlases & Gazetteers

Atlas of the World by Oxford (Editor) The only world atlas updated annually, guaranteeing that users will find the most current geographic information, Oxford's Atlas of the World is the most authoritative atlas on the market. Full of crisp, clear cartography of urban areas and virtually uninhabited landscapes around the globe,the Atlas is filled with maps of cities and regions at carefully selected scales that give a striking view of the Earth's surface. It opens with a fascinating look at world statistics, a six-page special on "Land and Maritime Boudaries," and satellite images of earth, including 8-10 stunning newimages sourced from NASA's latest Earth Observation Satellite, Landsat 8, launched in 2013. The extraordinarily extensive front matter continues with a "Gazetteer of Nations" that has been comprehensively checked and updated to include recent economic and political changes. The 48-page "Introductionto World Geography" is beautifully illustrated with tables and graphs on numerous topics of geographic significance, such as climate change, world religions, employment, industry, and a new 2-page feature on the state of world migration and the plight of refugees, illustrated with maps, graphs,diagrams, and photographs. The hundreds of city and world maps that form the body of the Atlas have been thoroughly updated for this 26th edition.Providing the finest global coverage available, the Atlas of the World is not only the best-selling volume of its size and price, but also the benchmark by which all other atlases are measured.
ISBN: 9780190065812
Publication Date: 2019

National Atlas of Canada - Toporama

Concise historical atlas of Canada [electronic resource] by edited by William G. Dean ... [et al.]
Call Number: G1116.S1 C6 1998eb
Publication Date: [1998]
Atlas of the historical geography of the United States [electronic resource] by by Charles O. Paulin, edited by John K. Wright This digital edition reproduces all of the atlas's nearly 700 maps. Many of these beautiful maps are enhanced here in ways impossible in print, animated to show change over time or made clickable to view the underlying data--remarkable maps produced eight decades ago with the functionality of the twenty-first century.

Geography - Human: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Human Geography Encyclopedias & Dictionaries: Examples

Atlases & Gazetteers

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library