Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles: Database Search Tips
Use databases to search for journal articles.
Summon Articles Search (right-column) searches for articles across multiple databases.
Help sections explain features and search strategies.
Use limiters when entering search terms. (Hint: select "Scholarly Peer Reviewed").
Too many results? Refer to "thesaurus" or "subject term" section in database to identify discipline-specific terminology to describe your topic.
. Too few results? Replace search terms with broader or more general terms
the citations listed in useful articles to find additional articles.
Find Articles: Recommended Human Geography Databases
Start with the following Databases & Indexes to locate scholarly articles related to Human Geography.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access peer-reviewed full text for multidisciplinary research, including STEM research, social sciences and humanities.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, reports, conference proceedings
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Access citations and abstracts from journals focusing on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, media reviews
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly literature covering many research areas. To determine if the UofL Library has the full-text of an item, conduct a search and click on the link from the results list. If it's not available in the Library, use the Library's Find it @ the U of Lethbridge Interlibrary Loan service.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports.
Search can be limited to the following databases:
Science Citation Index Expanded
Social Sciences Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities
Book Citation Index - Science
Book citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities
Current Chemical Reactions
To limit your results to one of the above citation indexes, scroll down the main search page and click on the appropriate database.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly research in the sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World This link opens in a new window
Access reference material on places and features throughout the world; both physical places and political entities. Entries include information on location, dimension and borders, as well as economic activities, demographics, history and former or alternate names.
Find Articles: Related Human Geography Databases
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Access the full text of Canadian magazines, reference books and newspapers. Includes full text of leading Canadian and international (U.S. and U.K.) periodicals, biographies and an image collection.
Content: Reference articles, magazines, biographies, images, photos, maps
Cities and Buildings Database This link opens in a new window
Access digitized images of buildings and cities from around the world. Search by country, city, style, architecture or date of construction.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Summon Search for Journal Articles
Find Articles: Finding Relevant Journal Titles
Selected Geography-related journal title categories: