LibGuides: Archaeology -- Great Plains Region: Databases & Articles

Find Articles: Recommended Plains & Prairie Databases [Full-Text]

Start with the following Databases to locate full-text articles related to Plains & Prairie Archaeology. Note: You can also use the SUMMON discovery tool above to locate more article from across multiple databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Content: Books, General/Multidisciplinary, Primary Source, Scholarly Journals
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary resource which provides indexing to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and reports. Approximately half of the publications include the full-text.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window eHRAF Archaeology database contains information on the prehistory of the world for a sample of archaeological traditions. The contents are organized by traditions and indexed at the paragraph level by HRAF anthropologists with unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), making it ideal for both exploratory, in-depth cultural research, and cross-archaeological comparisons. Content: Book, Indexes, Scholarly Journals
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. It is the place to find valuable, useful and inspirational research and academic information. With over 1.8 million journal articles and 46,000+ books, Cambridge Core is the central destination for academic research. Content: Books, General/Multidisciplinary, Scholarly Journals
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Subject coverage includes acculturation, archaeology, education, ethnohistory, economic development, folklore, the gaming industry, missions, mythology, religion, and tribal governments. Content: Biographies, Books, Government Documents, Newspapers, Reviews, Scholarly Journals

Find Other Database Content Related to Archaeology of the Great Plains [Free Online]

Canadian Archaeological Radiocarbon Database (CARD) [Free Online]
The Canadian Archaeological Radiocarbon Database (CARD) is a compilation of radiocarbon measurements that indicate the ages of samples primarily from archaeological sites in North America. CARD also includes samples from paleontological and geological contexts.
Paleoindian Database of the Americas (PIDBA) [Free Online]
Provides locational, attribute, and image data on Paleoindian materials (>ca. 10,000 cal yr BP) from all across the Americas.

Find Articles: Finding Major Journal Titles

Examples of journal titles that contain articles with a focus on Great Plains content:

Find Articles: Finding Major Journal Titles

Examples of journal titles not specific to the Archaeology of the Great Plains but which often have relevant content:

Popular Archaeology vs. Scholarly Archaeology

There are many Archaeology sources available that are not geared towards professional audiences. These are called “popular” publications and it is important to be aware when you are using these sources.

Source: Wikimedia Commons

Many popular sources are very good but they may not have gone through a rigorous peer review process or have the technical data necessary for your research. Articles are often written by professional writers not professional archaeologists.

Archaeology's Hoaxes, Fakes, and Strange Sites

"Archaeology's Hoaxes, Fakes, and Strange Sites" provides links to related articles appearing in Archaeology magazine.

Excavation of the "Cardiff Giant" in 1869
Source: Wikimedia Commons

Archaeology -- Great Plains Region: Databases & Articles

Find Articles: Recommended Plains & Prairie Databases [Full-Text]

Find Other Database Content Related to Archaeology of the Great Plains [Free Online]

Find Articles: Finding Major Journal Titles

Find Articles: Finding Major Journal Titles

Popular Archaeology vs. Scholarly Archaeology

Archaeology's Hoaxes, Fakes, and Strange Sites

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library