Live Chat and Research Support
Live Chat and Research Support
Ask Us: Online Assistance & Research Help
Stay connected! Ask Us services provide a variety of options to connect with the University Library to get the general and research help you need! For hours of operation, click here.
You can email, instant and text message your questions! Click here for your connection options.
When online assistance is not immediately available, the University Library provides guides covering an assortment of topics and subject areas.
From planning your research, locating the information, and citing your sources in a multitude of citation styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, etc.), we have you covered.
There are also subject specific guides for all programs created by each field’s Subject Librarian.
Click here to access the guides.
Library Instructional Videos
You can view an assortment of videos produced by the University Library that demonstrate how to use Summon, search our databases, develop your search strategies, and more by clicking here.
Databases: Ejournals, Indexes, Streaming Media, & More
Databases bring an assortment of digital content that includes, but not limited to: journal, magazine, and newspaper articles; and streaming audio and video resources to your computer. You can explore the databases by title, subject, type, or provider.
You can use the Summon Quick Search to retrieve a broad variety of online content or select any one of the hundreds of subject specific databases for all fields of study.
Click here to start finding the database content you need.
The University Library provides access to more than 100,000 eBooks 24/7. Click here to perform a Summon Search for eBooks and other resources.
To search for eBooks and other eResources in the classic catalogue, click here.
If you need quick access to almanacs, atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other factual reference resources to get your research started.
Click here to start your E-Reference search.
With the University Library inaccessible, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. The request will be processed and we (and our partners) will deliver the digital content to your email’s inbox if possible.
Click here to submit and track your interlibrary loan requests.
For additional details, please email Interlibrary Loans at email@example.com.
The University of Lethbridge has made several pieces of software available for use at home. Click here to be taken to an IT form to request software that you may need for your classes. Available software includes:
Adobe CC - TEMPORARY WORK AT HOME LICENSE
Maple - TEMPORARY WORK AT HOME LICENSE
SPSS - TEMPORARY WORK AT HOME LICENSE
Windows Virtual Desktop Service
Windows Virtual Desktop (WVD) is a means by which University of Lethbridge faculty, staff, and students can securely access remote desktops and applications from any device, anywhere, and at any time.
This website provides the following services:
For Project Sandbox inquires and support, please e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Keep connected and stay up-to-date with the University Library at:
For other official University of Lethbridge social media accounts, click here.