Archaeology 2620 -- Americas and Oceania
Find Journal Articles: Recommended Archaeology of Americas and Oceania Databases [Full-Text]
Start with these Databases below to find articles. Note: Use the Library search box on the Library home page to find articles from multiple databases at once. Hint: When searching it, refine search results by CONTENT TYPE > 'Journal Article'; you may also want to refine by DISCIPLINE > ‘History & Archaeology’.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary resource which provides indexing to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and reports. Approximately half of the publications include the full-text.
Search Tips - Locating Archaeology Site Reports in Databases and SUMMON
Try using the following keywords along with your site name, region and/or type of site (cave, rockshelter, mound, petroglyphs, village) or name of a specific group or tribe of people (salish, navajo):
- excavations
- antiquities
- archaeology
- site
- report
- field survey
Enclose phrases in quotations, e.g., “Danger Cave”
Popular Archaeology vs. Scholarly Archaeology
There are many Archaeology sources available that are not geared towards professional audiences. These are called “popular” publications and it is important to be aware when you are using these sources.
Source: Wikimedia Commons
Many popular sources are very good but they may not have gone through a rigorous peer review process or have the technical data necessary for your research. Articles are often written by professional writers not professional archaeologists.