Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Book Reviews: General and Subject-Specific Databases

A University of Lethbridge Library guide to finding book reviews.

Finding Book Reviews in General and Subject-Specific Databases

In addition to databases that specialize in book reviews, many general and subject-specific databases also index and provide full-text access to reviews.  Here are a few points to consider when searching these databases for book reviews:

  • Be sure that the database you're searching covers the subject area of the book.  If you're looking for reviews of a book on sociology, for example, use a sociology database or a more general database that covers the social sciences.
  • Be mindful of what fields you are searching.  Though some reviews are given a special title, most are simply given the title of the book they review, so it is often easiest to find reviews by typing in the name of the book.  Note that the author field searches the author of the review, not the book, so don't search the book's author within the author field.
  • If you're interested in only scholarly reviews, look for an option to limit your search to peer-reviewed or refereed publications.
  • Because these databases often index articles, conference proceedings, books, and other materials in addition to reviews, look for an option to limit the document type to book reviews.  If you select this option, your search results will include only book reviews.

Remember that though a database may index a review, it will not necessarily provide direct access to the full text of the review.  If the full text is not directly available, a link to find the review in other databases, in print, or through interlibrary loan is usually provided.

General and Subject-Specific Databases

Here is a list of some of the general and subject-specific databases through which you can search for book reviews.  The subject breadth of each is indicated below the link.

Library Help

Research Help Desk

During the Research Help Desk open hours, you can Ask Us a question via IM, email, or text message.

Instant Message: Click Here
Email: Click Here
Phone: 403-329-2263
Ph. (toll free): 877-382-7113
Text: 780-666-4622

Library Hours