Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collecting References: Books and Articles
provides the ability to save references from most library catalogs (including GSU's) and databases, and even some regular web pages,
with one click. (Zotero publishes a
list of compatible sites, and many sites not on this list also work.) If Zotero
detects that you're looking at a book or article on a catalog, database,
New York Times, you'll see a book or page icon appear in the address
bar of your browser. Just click the icon and Zotero will automatically
If you're on a page of search results with many items, you'll
see a folder icon instead. Click this to get a list of all the items
on the page, and check off
the ones you want to save.
Collecting References: Other Web Sites
Zotero can't automatically capture citation info from
some web pages, but you can still add them
to your Zotero library.
Click the Zotero button at the bottom of your browser to access Zotero's controls.
Click the page button (to the right of the green plus sign) to save
a link to the page. This will save a new "web page" item to your library. You can add information about the author, etc., if you wish.
This will also attach a snapshot of the page to the citation. Taking a snapshot saves a copy of
the page to your computer. It includes the page's text and images, so if the
page is removed later, or if you're offline, you'll still be able to view your
It's easy to attach files (like PDFs) to items in your Zotero library. Just drag the file into your Zotero pane. Dropping a file onto a collection, or in between library items, will copy it into your library as a standalone item. Dropping it onto an existing item will attach it to that item. This is the easiest way to attach a copy of an article to its entry in your library.
Each item also has an Attachments tab in the right column. You can attach files by clicking the Attachments tab and then the Add button.
Organizing Your Library
Click the Zotero button at the bottom of your browser to open your library.
At the top left is a folder button with a green plus sign. Click this to create
a new "collection."
collections to organize your references. Collections are like file folders
on your computer, but a reference can be in more than one collection at a
time. In other words, a book on the Civil War could be filed in your "Civil
War" collection, your "Georgia History" collection and your "19th Century America"
collection without having to make three copies of the reference.
Saving citations from GSU's Article Search pages
GSU Library's new
Article Search page and the "megasearch" box on the library home page allow you to search multiple databases at once. Unfortunately, the search results pages don't provide a Zotero "save" icon. There's a way around that problem with a few extra clicks, though.
Search the databases from the Article Search page's search box.
Click "save this citation" next to each citation you want to save.
Click "my saved citations" at the top right of the page.
Click "Download to Endnote, Zotero, etc." on the right.
Leave the radio button set to "directly to EndNote, Zotero..." and click the Download button.
The citations will download to your Zotero library.