Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating Quick Bibliographies
It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.
Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key
and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and
choose Create Bibliography. Choose the bibliographic style you want, and select
the output format: Save as
RTF or HTML, copy to clipboard or print. (The RTF file format is compatible with all word
Or you can just drag and drop references from Zotero into your document! They'll
turn into fully formatted citations. This works with any word processor including
Google Docs. Change the default style under Preferences on the "gear" menu.
Creating Your Bibliography While You Write
processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor
that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.
To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the
toolbar. Select the reference you want to cite and click OK. Zotero
will add the citation at your cursor.
At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert
Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will
be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last
button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").
Adding additional styles to Zotero
Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but
many more are available to download.
To install a Zotero style:
Go to the
Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox. Search for the name of the style you need.
Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.
The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.