LibGuides: Indigenous Studies: Getting Started

Starting Your Research Project

This page has some tips to help you with your research.

Featured Resources

Our Stories Collection The Our Stories Collection is located near the entrance to the Library. It contains nearly 400 titles written by Indigenous authors on a variety of topics.
Blackfoot Digital Library Although the endeavor to create a publicly accessible Blackfoot-centric library is recent, this project is ultimately the outcome of documentary work that began more than a century ago, and which elaborates on a knowledge base that emerged through a continuity of many thousands of years living in kitawahsinnoon. The Blackfoot Digital Library is both indebted and dedicated to akaitapii - our ancestors who observed the radical changes being forced upon our communities in the context of colonization, and who took it upon themselves to record their knowledge for the benefit of future generations. This is our opportunity to bring home the field notes, photographs, and recordings that have been spread all over the world; to respond to publications that have misinterpreted and misrepresented our experiences and our way of life. The Blackfoot Digital Library is a venue for sharing our families and our communities stories, past and present. Most certainly it is intended to be an educational resource for all those now living in kitawahsinnoon But above all, The Blackfoot Digital Library is meant to honor akaitapii, and their desire to speak through a variety of recording media to the grandchildren they never had a chance to meet, thereby ensuring that their knowledge is carried through to future generations. [from BDL]
iPortal The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. [from iPortal]

Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window Peel's Prairie Provinces is a collection of digitized materials related to western Canada.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window Explores interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.

Important Considerations

"Nothing about us without us."

- Marie Battiste (in MacDonald, 2017)

Before embarking on a research project in Indigenous Studies, it is important to think about the reasons for your research and the materials you choose to use. Some questions you should ask:

Who wrote the resource you have selected? What is their worldview?
What is the purpose of the resource? Of your research?
Who benefits from this research and/or resource?
When was the resource created?
Was the resource created in consultation with Indigenous communities or individuals?
How was the information gathered? Why was it gathered?
Who owns the research and the rights to the research?

Terminology

Searching databases ("Find Articles" tab) and the library catalogue ("Search" tab, "Library Catalogue" link) depends on Keywords and Subject Headings.
Universities and their libraries are the products of colonialism and this is reflected in the terminology used in library catalogues.
There are ongoing efforts to update the library catalogue to reflect names and terminology that are more accurate and respectful.

Subject Headings

Though their terminology is problematic, Library of Congress Subject Headings are currently the most effective way to search the catalogue.
Most material in the catalogue on Indigenous Studies-related subjects is classified under the broad subject heading Indigenous Peoples
Searches can be further narrowed by sub-topic (e.g., beading, agriculture, athletes) or geographical area (e.g., United States, Alberta, Arizona, Atlantic Provinces) or Nation (e.g., Siksika, Gros Ventre, Choctaw)
Below are some of the major Indigenous Studies-related subject headings:

Keywords

In addition to using the subject terms above as keywords, you may also use words describing groups of people: for example, Indigenous, Aboriginal, First Nations, Métis, Inuit, Native, American Indian (United States only)
Collective names: for example, Blackfoot, Cree, Anishinaabe, Inuvialuit, Yupik, Gwich'in
Nation-specific/language-specific names: for example, Kainai, Piikani, Tsu T'ina, Siksika, nēhiyawak, Vuntut, Uummarmiut
Combining these keywords with other keywords related to topics will help you find better results (e.g,, dancing, food, art)

Government Terminology Guides

Terminology Guide: Research on Aboriginal Terminology
Library and Archives Canada guide.
Words First - An Evolving Terminology Related to Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
Publication of the Communications Branch of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada [INAC]

How to Talk About Indigenous People

Chat With Your Librarian

chat loading...

Tools for Allyship

Indigenous Ally Toolkit
In this toolkit (2019), created by the Montreal Urban Aboriginal Community Strategy NETWORK, you will learn the role that an individual occupies and plays within the collective experience and so much more! [from the website]

Indigenous Canada
Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. [from the website]
more...less...
This course is provided FREE by the University of Alberta
10 Ways to be an Ally to Indigenous People
by Nikki Sanchez, Loose Lips Mag

10 Ways to be a Genuine Ally with Indigenous Communities
Article from Amnesty International

Research Guides

These guides were created to help you with research and writing:

Cite Sources
by Library Research Help Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 5423 views this year
Starting Your Research
by Library Research Help Last Updated Jul 22, 2024 367 views this year

For more help, contact your Subject Librarian.

Indigenous Studies

Starting Your Research Project

Featured Resources

Important Considerations

"Nothing about us without us."

Terminology

How to Talk About Indigenous People

Chat With Your Librarian

Tools for Allyship

Research Guides

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library