LibGuides: Counselling & Educational Psychology: Assessment Instruments

Locating Test Info

Start by clicking here for or a quick lesson on how to properly search the MMY database to locate test information and reviews.

Most important tip: For the entire record (reviews and test information) click on the title of the test, not the html full-text link.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Note: No copies of actual tests or assessment instruments.

Additional databases that may contain test reviews:

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education.

Content: Books, Bibliographies, Conference Proceedings, Ephemera, Indexes, Magazines, Newspapers, Poems, Reference, Reports, Reviews,
Education Database [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Education Database includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Content: Books, Conference Proceedings, Newspapers, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations
ERIC [via EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.

Note: Most ED documents from 1975 to 2004 are also available in the ERIC microfiche collection on Level 11 of the Library.

Content: Books, Indexes, Reference, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is a database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Content: Books, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Search tips:

In addition to the name or acronym of the test, you may need to add additional keywords along with the word AND between your separate concepts.
- reviews
- test reviews
- validity
- reliability
- culture fair tests
Search string example: WISC-v AND test reviews
If there are multiple editions of your test, ensure the review matches your edition. The test publisher's website can be consulted for additional information.
Don't pay for any articles! If we don't have it, you can try Interlibrary Loans.

E-books

An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by Kate Miriam Loewenthal; Christopher Alan Lewis This text is a vital resource for those with little or no prior knowledge of computing or statistics to aid in the development of reliable and valid tests and scales for assessment or research purposes. It serves as a clear, concise and jargon-free primer for all those embarking in fieldwork or research analysis. The book contains detailed guidelines for locating and constructing psychological measures, including descriptions of popular psychological measures and step-by-step instructions for composing a measure, entering data, and computing reliability and validity of test results. Advanced techniques such as factor analysis, analysis of covariance, and multiple regression analysis are presented for the beginner. This new edition has been revised throughout and includes updated statistical test procedures in line with the new version of SPSS and the inclusion of current academic articles. It serves as an invaluable resource for undergraduates and postgraduates across the behavioral and social sciences, as well as professionals in related disciplines, including those working in management and medical sciences.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2021
Diagnostic and Behavioral Assessment in Children and Adolescents by Bryce D. McLeod (Editor); Amanda Jensen-Doss (Editor); Thomas H. Ollendick (Editor); Amanda Jensen-Doss (Editor) This comprehensive volume shows how to use both diagnostic and behavioral assessment knowledgeably and effectively throughout the process of treatment. The two traditions have developed along separate paths--each with its own conceptual underpinnings and psychometric strengths. Used together, they can produce a complete picture of a child's or adolescent's needs and strengths. The expert editors and contributors describe the full range of evidence-based assessment tools and illustrate their application with two intake-to-termination case examples, both based on DSM-5. Reproducible tools include a behavioral recording form and a multipage case conceptualization worksheet that can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
Publication Date: 2013
Positive Psychological Assessment by Matthew W. Gallagher; Shane J. Lopez This book is a primer for practitioners and researchers striving to incorporate the assessment of human strengths, resources, and fulfillment into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical applications of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humor, gratitude, faith, morality, coping, well-being, and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strengths. This second edition includes a fully-updated research base, and extensive case studies that offer concrete examples of how clinical readers can use these tools in their practice.
Publication Date: 2019
Behavior Analysis for School Psychologists by Michael I. Axelrod Perfect for students preparing for a career in school psychology and for current practitioners, teachers, and consultants, this book translates behavior analysis theory into practice. In concise chapters illustrated with school-based examples, Behavior Analysis for School Psychologists guides readers through the basics of behavior analysis, including observation and measurement, experimental analysis, and intervention design and implementation, while providing academic, behavioral, and mental health interventions from research-based principles of learning and behavior. 　
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017

Your Librarian

Emma Scott

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office L1150

403-329-2355

Subjects: Education, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

Ok, but where are the TESTS?

The Faculty of Education created an Assessment Library for psychological assessment materials. The Faculty is obligated to safeguard these items. Access to the collection is managed by the Curriculum Laboratory, not the main U of L Library.

For more information, click HERE.

APA Help Guides

U of L's APA 7th Edition LibGuide

OWL Purdue Writing Center guide to APA 7th

APA 6th's blog on how to cite a Psych Test

DSM-5

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: Reference Collection: RC 455.2 C4 D54 2013

Also available online.

MMY Trivia!

MMY was originally developed by Oscar Buros. Did you know that Oscar typically worked 18 hours a day and that he loved cats? You do now! Follow the link if you'd like more information about the development and continuing work of the Buros Center for Testing.

Counselling & Educational Psychology: Assessment Instruments

Locating Test Info

E-books

Your Librarian

Ok, but where are the TESTS?

APA Help Guides

DSM-5

MMY Trivia!

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library