LibGuides: Archaeology -- Near Eastern and Egyptian: Ancient Languages

Ancient Language: EGYPTIAN

Egyptian grammar : being an introduction to the study of hieroglyphs / Sir Alan Henderson Gardiner. --
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 1135 G3 1957
The Classic introduction to reading Egyptian.
Middle Egyptian : an introduction to the language and culture of hieroglyphs by James P. Allen
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 1135 A45 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The most up-to-date introduction to ancient Egyptian.
A concise dictionary of Middle Egyptian / by Raymond O. Faulkner. --
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 1425 F38
The traditional introductory dictionary to Egyptian.

Basics of Ancient Ugaritic by Michael Williams
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4150 W55 2013
Publication Date: 2012
An introduction to Ugaritic / John Huehnergard.
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4150 G63 H8 2012
A manual of Ugaritic [E-Book & Print] / Pierre Bordreuil and Dennis Pardee
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4150 B5913 2009

An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew Syntax by Bruce K. Waltke; M. O'Connor
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4707 W35 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Arguably the most useful intermediate-level treatment of Hebrew grammar.
Introduction to Biblical Hebrew [by] Thomas O. Lambdin. -
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4567 L3 1971
One of the classic introductions to the ancient Hebrew language.
A Hebrew and English lexicon of the Old Testament : with an appendix containing the Biblical Aramaic. --
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4833 G4 1962
The traditional dictionary for ancient Hebrew.
The concise dictionary of classical Hebrew / David J. A. Clines, editor
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4833 C66 2009
Up-to-date and easy to use dictionary.
Gesenius' Hebrew grammar / as edited and enlarged by the late E. Kautzsch
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4564 G5 1910

Sumerian Grammar [E-book & Print] by Dietz Otto Edzard
Call Number: Main Collection PJ 4013 E38 2006
Publication Date: 2006
A useful but somewhat controversial introduction to Sumerian.

EGYPTIAN : Extinct language of the Nile valley.

HEBREW : Spoken in ancient times in Palestine.

AKKADIAN : Replaced Sumerian as a spoken language; Mesopotamia.

SUMERIAN : Oldest written language in existence; southern Mesopotamia.

UGARITIC : Used on the Syrian coast from the 15th to 13th century BC.

Volumes in Writings from the Ancient World [Book Series]
Direct access to key ancient Near Eastern writings that date from the beginning of the Sumerian civilization to the age of Alexander the Great; volumes typically offer historical and literary background to the writings, the original text and English translation, explanatory or textual notes, and a bibliography. PUBLISHER: Society of Biblical Literature Press.