LibGuides: Indigenous Studies: Other Research Resources

Other Resources

This page contains links to other sources of information from the Library and around the Internet.

Reference sources (i.e., encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc.) can be excellent starting points for beginning your research about a particular topic.
To search, select the Reference tab in the Summon Search box.

The library also has an extensive collection of DVDs & Streaming Video that is useful for research and information.
To search, select the Video Recordings link in the Summon Search box.

Featured Reference Sources

Algonquin Linguistic Atlas & Dictionaries
The goal of the project is to co-create an on-line, multimedia linguistic atlas of Algonquian languages. The creation of this atlas allows us to offer many training opportunities for sound editing and linguistic description training to aboriginal students.

Atlas des peuples autochtones du Canada: Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada by Royal Canadian Geographical Society
Call Number: E 78 C2 I63 2018
ISBN: 9781989227015
Publication Date: 2018
The Dictionary of Native American Terminology
Call Number: UofL Main Collection E 76.2 W36 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Covers every aspect of Native American culture, providing brief definitions, information about language usage, and specific references in Native American history.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia of Native-American History [E-Book]
Publication Date: 2011
A comprehensive and authoritative look at the most important individuals, events, and topics in American Indian history. Covering the period from the first human settlements in the Americas to the present day.
Native American Almanac by Yvonne Wakim Dennis; Arlene Hirschfelder; Shannon Rothenberger Flynn From ancient rock drawings to today's urban living, the Native American Almanac: More than 50,000 Years of the Cultures and Histories of Indigenous Peoples traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. It is a fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations' histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more. Ten regional chapters, including urban living, cover the narrative history, the communities, land, environment, important figures, and backgrounds of each area's Tribal Nations and peoples. The stories of 345 Tribal Nations, biographies of 400 influential figures in all walks of life, Native American firsts, awards, and statistics are covered. 150 photographs and illustrations bring the text to life. The most complete and affordable single-volume reference work about Native American culture available today, the Native American Almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating, demystifying, and celebrating the moving, sometimes difficult, and often lost history of the indigenous people of America. Capturing the stories and voices of the American Indian of yesterday and today, it provides a range of information on Native American history, society, and culture.
ISBN: 9781578595075
Publication Date: 2016
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes [E-Book]
Publication Date: 2012
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Film, Video, and Audio Recordings

Films on Demand Digital Education Video

Access streaming educational videos in dozens of subject areas.

NFB - National Film Board of Canada

Access online streaming video from the National Film Board of Canada. Included in this database are 500+ films available for educators that are labeled "CAMPUS". Access to these films is restricted to University of Lethbridge Students, Faculty and Staff. Includes public performance rights: Creating an NFB Profile

Films & Videos

The University of Lethbridge Library has a wide selection of films on multiple formats which are available for check out or streaming online! Use this guide for help with searching for films using the library catalogue.

Curio.ca

The Curio.ca platform provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more.

Screenshot of Summon search results for Indigenous Peoples of Canada video

Summon Video Recordings Search

Use the Video Recordings tab on the Summon search box to find video & streaming video. You can also find Audio Recordings in this search box.

Chat With Your Librarian

chat loading...

Other Libraries

Red Crow Community College, First Nations Information Connection
Red Crow Community College's library website contains a wealth of Indigenous resources.
iPortal @ USask
Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool from University of Saskatchewan. Contains many full-text electronic resources (articles, photos, videos, archival documents, etc.) on Indigenous topics.
Native Studies Guides @ UAlberta
A list of subject guides related to Indigenous Studies from the library at the University of Alberta.
X̱wi7x̱wa Library @ UBC
Xwi7xwa Library is a centre for academic and community Indigenous scholarship. Its collections and services reflect Aboriginal approaches to teaching, learning, and research. Everyone is welcome to visit Xwi7xwa Library. [from website]