Skip to Main Content

Religious Studies: Christianity: RELS 3501

Primary Sources for the study of Early Christianity

Primary sources include:

"...artifacts in a variety of forms -- print, visual, oral, media, physical objects -- that provide first-hand knowledge and evidence of something" (https://guides.library.ualberta.ca/primary-sources).

Secondary sources:

"...[were] created later by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you're researching. For the purposes of a historical research project, secondary sources are generally scholarly books and articles. Also included would be reference sources like encyclopedias." (https://www.library.illinois.edu/village/primarysource/mod1/pg2.htm).

 

This guide provides many links to relevant collections of primary source and secondary source materials. You should always evaluate information and the sources of information you find. Advice for evaluating information is included on the right hand side below. 

 

Primary Source Databases

The following are subscription databases provided by UofL featuring primary source (and some secondary source) materials relevant to the study of women in Early Christianity.

Websites

The following is a selection of websites and digital library collections containing primary sources pertaining to Early Christianity.

Find Articles

The following databases or journals contain articles on the study of women in Early Christianity.

Search for books beyond our library

Request an Interlibrary Loan

9 STEPS

1. The first step is to open University of Lethbridge Library and click Interlibrary Loans

Step 1 image

2. Choose the type of material you are requesting

Step 2 image

3. Click Book Chapter

Step 3 image

4. Provide all the details about the article that you can.

Only the fields with asterisks are required.

Step 4 image

5. Notice the estimated time to complete the request and format you can expect to receive.

Step 5 image

6. Fill in as much detail about the chapter and book as you can. All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are manditory.

Step 6 image

7. If you know you won't need the chapter after a certain date (ex. an assignment due date) fill this in.

Step 7 image

8. Click Submit

Step 8 image

9. That's it. You're done.

Step 9 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

** Best experienced in Full Screen (click the icon in the top right corner before you begin) **

https://www.iorad.com/player/1774766/How-to-submit-an-Interlibrary-Loan-for-a-book-chapter-



Next step
 

Evaluating Websites

The Web can be a valuable research tool, but not all online sources are equally credible. Because anyone can publish anything online, it is important to think critically about the information you find on the Web. Before you cite an online source in your work, consider the questions below. Also, remember that many quality sources are not available on the Internet, especially for free. Be sure to consult the library's print and electronic collections when conducting research.

Authority: Can you trust the source?

  • Can you identify the author?
  • If the author is an individual, what are his or her credentials or other qualifications? Is the author a recognized authority in the relevant field of study?
  • If the author is a corporation, government body, or special interest group, what can you find out about the organization?
  • What is the domain of the website? Some domains (e.g. .edu, .gov, .gc.ca) indicate that the webpage is hosted by a government or educational institution. These are more likely to provide reliable information. 

Currency: Is the information up to date?

  • Are you able to determine when the website or webpage was created? When was the page last updated?
  • Is the information time-sensitive? Some types of information go out of date quickly (e.g. medical knowledge).

Purpose: Why was the website/page created?

  • Who is the intended audience? Is the information written for an academic or popular audience?
  • Is the website/page intended to inform? To persuade? To sell a product?
  • Does the author present a balanced view of the topic? Are opposing viewpoints acknowledged?

Content: Is the information that the website/page presents quality academic research?

  • Is the website/page organized in a logical and understandable manner?
  • Are the author's arguments well-reasoned and supported by sufficient evidence? Can you verify the information elsewhere?
  • Does the author cite his or her sources? Are there many citations? Are the materials cited primarily scholarly sources? Are they a mix of primary and secondary sources, or only secondary sources?

 

CRAAP

Research Appointments with Romany

While most research questions I receive can be solved via email, there are times when students and faculty need more in-depth support. If you're new to library research, returning to academia, or digging deep into a topic (literature review, research assistant project, thesis, etc) consider booking some time with me. 

Getting the most out of your appointment:

  • Send me a brief description of your research issue and what you've already tried - I like to do a bit of my own exploration before we meet (I'm learning too!).
  • Try to ensure your laptop is charged so you don't have to worry about running out of juice mid-way through the appointment - I want you to be relaxed and able to focus on your work.
  • Feel free to eat and drink during the appointment - again, I want you to be comfortable.
  • In-depth research is a process - it is possible that we may have to meet again, but more often we can follow-up via email. If possible, try to use the original email thread so we can keep all of our work together in one place.
  • If you're a parent and your kids drop-in - that's okay!  Zoom-bombing pets are a bonus.