LibGuides: Sociology : Find Articles

Empirical Articles

Not sure how to tell if your article is empirical? Click here for some tips!

Finding Journal Articles

The most current research is often found in journal articles. Library databases provide citations for articles, abstracts (a summary of the article) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text for an article you need isn't available through this Library, you can request it via interlibrary loan.

To the right is a list of databases relevant to Sociology. If your subject is multidisciplinary, it may be worthwhile to consult databases from other subject areas.

Click here for Database search tips or Ask Us if you need any assistance.

Database Contents

In addition to journal articles, databases may also provide access to book reviews, magazine and newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, government documents, book chapters, and conference proceedings.

Connect to Google Scholar

Recommended Article Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access research covering sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Includes author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, monographs, conference papers, author profiles
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly social sciences journals, as well as science and technical journals. Included in the Web of Science Core Collection.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports.
Gender Studies Database (GSD) This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia. It indexes scholarly and popular publications including journals, books, conference papers and theses.

Content: Biographies, Books, Case Studies, Conference Proceedings, Ephemera, Government Document, Indexes, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary resource which provides indexing to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and reports. Approximately half of the publications include the full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Content: Books, General/Multidisciplinary, Primary Source, Scholarly Journals
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides access to journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Content: Free Access, Primary Source, Scholarly Journals
Complimentary via EBSCO.
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo is a database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar: Search scholarly literature covering many research areas. To determine if the UofL Library has the full-text of an item, conduct a search and click on the Find it @ the U of Lethbridge link from the results list.

Provider Tutorial

Note: Coverage and quality is uneven so Google Scholar should be just one of the tools used in research.

Sociology : Find Articles

Empirical Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Database Contents

Connect to Google Scholar

Recommended Article Databases

Google Scholar

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library