LibGuides: History: Canadian Literature

Finding Canadian Literature

If you already know the book you are looking for, search our library catalogue by Title or Author. TIP type the Author's last name first (ex. Monroe, Alice).

Search by Subject Heading to find additional books on your topic, or books about a particular author. Examples of the types of subject headings you can use:

Authors, Canadian
Authors, Canadian Alberta
Canadian literature
Children's literature, Canadian
Canadian literature 20th century
Novelists, Canadian
Richler, Mordecai

What are book reviews?

Book reviews are typically short descriptions and evaluations of recently-published books. They may be found in newspapers, magazines, journals, or online, and may be written for a general public readership or for a specialized scholarly or professional audience. This guide offers tips on finding book reviews through the library's resources.

Quick links to resources with book reviews

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
An online collection of literary criticism that includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Canadian Book Review Annual Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews of Canadian authored books.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
Provides Canadian periodicals, a bilingual interface, indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains the full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to represent Great Britain in the nineteenth century. Includes national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Times is the world's newspaper of record and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. The archive provides access to pages published between 1785 and 2012, allowing users to search the full-text of the newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
Globe and Mail (1844-2018) This link opens in a new window
Access the full-page newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail from June 1844 to 2018.
Daily Mail Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes both the regular edition of the newspaper as well as the Atlantic Edition, which was printed on board transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.
Sunday Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Explore the digital archive of The Sunday Times, which provided analysis and commentary on the week's news and society at large.

History

Finding Canadian Literature

What are book reviews?

Quick links to resources with book reviews

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library