Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archaeology Reference Sources
Reference sources (i.e., encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, etc.) are excellent starting points for beginning your research about a particular topic.
Summon Search for Reference Sources
Examples of resources that provide information on -related topics and explain terminology used within the discipline: Archaeology
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology (2nd edition) [Electronic Resource] The second edition of The Oxford Companion to Archaeology is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with new entries exploring the many advances in the field since the first edition published in 1996. In 700 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage to historical archaeology, thedevelopment of archaeology as a field of study, and the way the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering ofEgyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating. Recent developments in methods and analytical techniques which have revolutionized the ways excavations are performed are also covered; as well as new areas within archeology, such as cultural tourism; and major new sites which have expanded our understanding of prehistory and human developmentsthrough time. In addition to significant expansion, first-edition entries have been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the progress that has been made in the last decade and a half.
Publication Date: 2012
A Dictionary of Archaeology
Call Number: Reference Collection CC 70 D53 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Contains about 1,500 entries of varying length. It includes: a series of brief synopses of archaeological records; sixty short essays on theories adapted by or developed within archaeology; coverage of sites and archaeological cultures; expositions on archaeological methods; illustrations; maps; short bibliographies; and an index.
Collins Dictionary of Archaeology
Call Number: Reference Collection CC 70 C58 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Dictionary of theoretical and technical terms, sites, and archaeologists. Illustrations are occasionally found on pages following entries. Includes cross-references and an appendix with maps showing sites.
Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology
Call Number: Main Collection CC 70 M45 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Includes 73 selected terms and concepts. Each entry includes cross-references to related entries. The book includes bibliographic references and name and subject indexes.
The Facts on File Dictionary of Archaeology
Publication Date: 1984
This work has entries for terms, sites, persons, surveys of geographical areas, etc. The book includes: cross-references; a subject index (including a geographical approach); and a bibliography.
Archaeology Encyclopedias & Related Reference Works
Archaeology: Examples of resources that provide background information relevant for researching topics in
Encyclopedia of Archaeology [ELECTRONIC RESOURCE]
Call Number: UofL Electronic Resource CC 70 E54 2011
Publication Date: 2008
This work is organized alphabetically and covers four general themes: archaeology as a discipline; the practice of archaeology; archaeology at the beginning of the 21st century, both geographically and topically; and archaeology in the everyday world. Each of the three volumes has an introduction, a list of contributors, a list of "contents by subject area," and a table of contents. Vol. 3 includes a subject index. Each entry begins with a glossary and ends with a bibliography of further reading. Includes illustrations and some maps.
The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology [ELECTRONIC RESOURCE] by
Publication Date: 2012 (online)
Archaeology is a vast subject--it is the study of human society everywhere in the world, from distant human origins 3-4 million years ago up to the present day. The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology brings together 35 authors--all specialists in their own fields--to explain what archaeology is really about. This is one of the most comprehensive treatments of the subject and of the key debates ever attempted. It is designed to open up the world of archaeology to non-specialists and to provide an essential starting point for those who want to pursue particular topics in more depth.
Electronic Oxford Handbooks (Archaeology)
Oxford Handbooks are guided by a world-class Editorial Board that bring together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East [E-RESOURCE]
Publication Date: 1997
This encyclopedia includes articles with references, and sometimes annotations. The work covers: archaeological sites; regional essays; languages; material culture; organizations; institutions; significant people; and archaeological methods and theory. The work includes: appendices (vol. 5); chronological time line; maps that reflect the major regions covered; an outline of contents; and a comprehensive index.
An Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology
Call Number: Main Collection DE 5 E5 1995
Publication Date: 1996
2 volumes; This work focuses on the archaeology of Greece and Italy and the Bronze Age Aegean and Etruscan cultures. The encyclopedia's 1,100+ entries consider the history of archaeological study and describes: sites; monuments; organizations; and important individuals. Each entry is followed by a brief bibliography. Includes a general index.
Archaeology in America
Call Number: Main Collection E 159.5 A68 2009
Publication Date: 2008
4 volumes; This reference resource describes archaeological sites in North America. Each volume concentrates on a specific geographical area, which are subdivided into regions. Each geographical region has an introduction. Articles cover archaeological sites, listed in alphabetical order. The encyclopedia includes: bibliographies and information about public access for each site discussed; illustrations and photographs; and maps.
Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America
Call Number: Main Collection F 1218.6 A73 2001
Publication Date: 2000
This reference source concentrates largely on Mesoamerica before contact with European culture. The work contains more than 500 alphabetically organized entries and includes indexes.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
Call Number: Main Collection CC 77 H5 E52 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This work's alphabetically arranged entries present information on concepts, research methods, and research sites important to the development of the field.
Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt [E-RESOURCE]
Publication Date: 1999
Overview essays on thirteen periods from Paleolithic cultures to Roman civilization. The work contains over 300 alphabetically arranged entries about sites, social and cultural themes, archaeological practices, biographies, buildings, geographical features, and references for further reading. Includes a glossary and an index.
Call Number: Main Collection CC 70 M42 2001
Publication Date: 2000
This encyclopedia has over 150 articles and offers: country and regional surveys; information on major archaeological sites and programs; and descriptions of specific technologies and archaeological concepts. Each article gives detailed bibliographies with suggestions for further reading. The book includes numerous illustrations and photos. Its coverage deals primarily with the Latin west.
The World Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Call Number: Main Collection CC 70 W67 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This title provides an overview of the history and present of the field of archaeology followed by listings of major archaeological sites grouped by region. There is at least one page dedicated to each site listed and includes color images, a brief historical background of the site, and other descriptive information. Includes references, a glossary and a geographically arranged guide to sites.
Archaeology: Topic Overview
. The bulk of such material evidence is artifactual, which is anything made or modified by human action. Artifacts encompass everything from the stone tools discarded at Gona in Ethiopia 2.5 million years ago to the trash discarded yesterday. [ archaeology is the study of the human past through the discovery, analysis, and interpretation of the material remains of that past over space and time continue reading entry in reference work]
SOURCE: Archaeology. (2008). In W. A. Darity, Jr. (Ed.), International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 163-170). Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA.