LibGuides: Research in Education: Research Resources

General Research Guides

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches
Call Number: H 62 C6963 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Library Main Collection
Research and Evaluation in Education and Psychology
Call Number: LB 1028 M3964 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Library Main Collection
Education Research by Michael Hammond; Jerry Wellington Concise, engaging and accessible, Education Research: The Basicsdiscusses key ideas about the nature and purpose of education research: what it can and cannot achieve, how it has been used in the past and where and how it has an impact. Providing crucial insight into the work of education researchers, this book: Offers seven chapters, each representing a way of understanding the goals and methods of research conducted in the field Considers key thinkers in the field, such as Plato, Hirsch, Dewey, Montessori and Freire Explores case studies from a range of perspectives Provides key terms and further reading throughout The perfect pocket resource to dip into, Education Research: The Basicsprovides accessible support for those studying education as a subject, for practitioners concerned with developing their practice and for anyone who wants to know more about education and how it is researched. : The Basicsprovides accessible support for those studying education as a subject, for practitioners concerned with developing their practice and for anyone who wants to know more about education and how it is researched.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2019
Educational Research and Inquiry: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches
Call Number: LB 1028 E3133 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Library Main Collection
Challenging Status Quo Retrenchment: New Directions in Critical Research
Publication Date: 2012
Available online
Integrating Qualitative and Quantitative Methods
Call Number: H 62 M6448 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Library Main Collection

Qualitative

Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education
Call Number: LB 1028 H36 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Available in print and online
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research
Call Number: H 62 H2455 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Library Main Collection
Teachers as Researchers: Qualitative Inquiry as a Path to Empowerment
Publication Date: 2003
Available online
Qualitative Research in Education
Call Number: LB 1028 A85 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Library Main Collection
Qualitative research : the essential guide to theory and practice
Call Number: LB 1028 S229 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Library Main Collection
Qualitative Data Analysis with Nvivo
Call Number: H 61.3 B396 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Library Main Collection

Quantitative

Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research
Call Number: LB 1028 H36 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Available in print and online
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods
Call Number: BF 39 O927 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Library Main Collection
Quantitative Research in Education: A Primer
Call Number: LB 1028 H69 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Library Main Collection
Doing Quantitative Research in Education with SPSS
Call Number: LB 1028 M775 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Library Main Collection
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods
Call Number: H 62 S244 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Library Main Collection

Research @ ULeth

Visit the Research & Innovation Services for more information on a variety of topics including Research Services and Research Ethics at the University of Lethbridge.

Statistical Analysis Software

For more information on software required for statistical analysis, please contact IT Services.

Software available in the U of L computer labs
Purchasing software from the IT Store for off-campus use

Action Research

Credible and Actionable Evidence: Foundations for Rigorous and Influential Evaluations
Call Number: Q 180.55 E9 W53 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Library Main Collection
Mixed Methods Applications in Action Research
Call Number: LB 1028.24 I83 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Library Main Collection
Participatory Action Research
Publication Date: 2015
Available online
Action Research for Inclusive Education: Changing Places, Changing Practice, Changing Minds
Publication Date: 2004
Available online
An Ethical Approach to Practitioner Research: Dealing with the Issues and Dilemmas in Action Research
Publication Date: 2007
Available online
Research, Actionable Knowledge, and Social Change: Reclaiming Social Responsibility Through Research Partnerships
Call Number: LB 1028.24 S83 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Library Main Collection

Focus on Education Research

Thinking Critically and Ethically about Research for Education by Alison Fox (Editor); Hugh Busher (Editor); Carmel Capewell (Editor) Thinking Critically and Ethically about Research for Education draws on the experiences of a range of researchers in the discipline to explore the lived realities, including ethical and methodological complexities, involved in undertaking educational research. Using global case studies, this book examines the meaning of ethical research practice and raises questions about representation, power and empowerment in the field. It provides critical reflections from researchers, reviewing the methodologies they used in their studies and the ethical implications of these in theory and practice. The book highlights the various difficulties and realities present in education research and provides researchers with the tools necessary for refining their skills and understanding ethical research methodologies. The chapters reflect authors' responses to the following questions: What values prompted you to do this work and how did you share these with participants? What were the ethical considerations raised beforehand and how were these tackled in terms of meeting obligations (including to ERBs), maximising benefits and dealing with issues arising during the study and through to publication? What does 'empowerment' and/or 'voice' mean to you as a researcher and how did you express this to your participants? In what ways were the participants given opportunities to be empowered in or through your study? With critical discussions on ethics and research practices in education research, this book is ideal for student, novice and experienced researchers looking to undertake ethical education research.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2022
The Foundational Handbook on Improvement Research in Education by Donald J. Peurach (Editor); Jennifer Lin Russell (Editor); Lora Cohen-Vogel (Editor); William Penuel (Editor) The Foundational Handbook on Improvement Research in Education is a pathbreaking effort to build a field of research committed to producing the practical knowledge needed to advance educational access, quality, and equity. This is research distinguished by the use of inclusive, iterative approaches to analysis, design, implementation, and evaluation to understand and address educational opportunities, needs, and problems grounded deeply in school and community contexts. Designed for researchers, students, and educators, the handbook elaborates the intellectual foundations, explores the organizational and policy contexts, reviews approaches, and examines methods of improvement research. It features contributions from a plural community of researchers with expertise in the learning sciences, instructional improvement, organizational and policy studies, and research methodologies, many with extensive experience collaborating with teachers, leadership, families, and advocates in local problem solving and design.
Call Number: LB 1028 F63 2022
Publication Date: 2022
Student Voice Research: Theory, Methods, and Innovations from the Field by Marc Brasof (Editor); Joseph Levitan (Editor); Susan Groundwater-Smith (Foreword by) This powerful resource is for researchers and educational leaders who are interested in understanding and applying research methods that emphasize youth voice. The authors argue that most educational research either omits critical understandings of youth or, even worse, presents inaccuracies due to faulty techniques. Researching how youth experience their schools and communities requires specific conceptual tools that address researcher bias, power dynamics, and the contextual considerations that impact meaning-making processes. Responding to these issues, the authors present the Student Voice Research Framework--an approach that both novice and advanced researchers can use to address assumptions and overcome bias as they engage with youth. Readers are provided with clear steps for implementing the framework, as well as examples of how some of the most innovative qualitative and quantitative researchers in the world are using it. The text includes numerous interview, survey, and other protocols with strategies that researchers can use immediately or adapt for their own studies. This comprehensive volume is a must-have for anyone doing research about and with youth. Book Features: Guidance for addressing persistent problems of bias in educational inquiry to better engage in study about and with students. Examination of student voice research as its own field with its own typologies and research questions. Chapters highlighting innovative qualitative and quantitative research methods and strategies with ready-to-use protocols and other tools. A forward-looking conversation about social justice and what democracy could look like in schools. A toolkit of research methods and school change processes to address difficult questions in education.
Call Number: LB 1028 S78 2022
Publication Date: 2022

Research in Education

General Research Guides

Qualitative

Quantitative

Research @ ULeth

Statistical Analysis Software

Action Research

Focus on Education Research

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library