LibGuides: Research in Education: MEd Curriculum & Assessment

Research Texts

Research Design by Patricia Leavy "This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review." -- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: E-Book (newer edition on order)
Publication Date: 2017
SAGE Handbook of Research on Classroom Assessment by James H. McMillan
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2013
International Handbook of Curriculum Research by William F. Pinar (Editor) Continuing its calling to define the field and where it is going, the Second Edition of this landmark handbook brings up to date its comprehensive reportage of scholarly developments and school curriculum initiatives worldwide, providing a panoramic view of the state of curriculum studies globally. Its international scope and currency and range of research and theory reflect and contribute significantly to the ongoing internationalization of curriculum studies and its growth as a field worldwide. Changes in the Second Edition: Five new or updated introductory chapters pose transnational challenges to key questions curriculum research addresses locally. Countries absent in the First Edition are represented: Chile, Colombia, Cypress, Ethiopia, Germany, Iran, Luxembourg, Nigeria, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, and Switzerland. 39 new or updated chapters on curriculum research in 34 countries highlight curriculum research that is not widely known in North America. This handbook is an indispensable resource for prospective and practicing teachers, for curriculum studies scholars, and for education students around the world.
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780415804295
Publication Date: 2014

Books in YOUR Library

Pedagogy of the Oppressed: 50th Anniversary Edition by Paulo Freire; Donaldo Macedo (Foreword by) First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. Paulo Freire's work has helped to empower countless people throughout the world and has taken on special urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is ongoing.This 50th anniversary edition includes an updated introduction by Donaldo Macedo, a new afterword by Ira Shor and interviews with Marina Aparicio Barberán, Noam Chomsky, Ramón Flecha, Gustavo Fischman, Ronald David Glass, Valerie Kinloch, Peter Mayo, Peter McLaren and Margo Okazawa-Rey to inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2018
Changing Teaching, Changing Teachers: 21st Century Teaching and Learning Through Lesson and Learning Study by Keith Wood; Saratha Sithamparam A unique feature of this book is its focus on engaging teachers themselves in changing teaching as a way to bring about teacher change through lesson study and learning study. The sequence - changing teaching, changing teachers - is significant. This approach to professional development is not about telling teachers what and how they should teach to bring about change in their students' learning outcomes. It is about empowering teachers to make their own decisions about what needs to change. Empowering teachers in this way has been identified as the 'soul' of Japanese lesson study (Cheng, 2019). It is the soul which can so easily be compromised when lesson study is adopted and - inevitably it seems - adapted in new contexts around the globe. Without teacher empowerment, top-down curriculum development is almost bound to fail. In presenting the cases of collaborative professional development included in this book, care has been taken to include the teachers' voices. They are intended to be the subjects and not the objects of our research into teachers' professional development.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2021
Routledge Library Editions: Curriculum Reissuing works originally published between 1971 and 1994, this collection includes books which offer a broad spectrum of views on curriculum, both within individual schools and the wider issues around curriculum development, reform and implementation. Some cover the debate surrounding the establishment of the national curriculum in the UK while others are a more international in scope. Many of these books go beyond theory to discuss practical issues of real curriculum changes at primary or secondary level. The Set includes books on cross-curricular topics such as citizenship and environment, and also guidance, careers, life skills and pastoral care in schools. A fantastic collection of education history with much still relevant today.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2018
Curriculum Compacting: A Guide to Differentiating Curriculum and Instruction Through Enrichment and Acceleration by Sally M. Reis Curriculum compacting is one of the most well-researched and commonly used ways of differentiating instruction to challenge advanced learners. This practical and inexpensive method of differentiating both content and instruction enables classroom teachers to streamline the regular curriculum, ensure students' mastery of basic skills, and provide time for stimulating enrichment and acceleration activities. With information on the history and rationale of curriculum compacting as well as successful implementation strategies and multiple case studies, the second edition of Curriculum Compacting introduces the strategies that teachers need to understand to implement this differentiation strategy for high potential, highly motivated and academically talented and gifted students.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2016
Learning Theories, A to Z by David C. Leonard Swift changes in educational technology are transforming the landscape of our society and how we transfer knowledge in a digital world. Teachers, administrators, and education students need to stay abreast of these developments. Yet while the new educational software, technologies, and networks may be available, the learning theories and methods required to take complete advantage of the tools are often neglected. Learning theories are a crucial element of education studies for anyone involved with students from pre-school to higher education and business training. This book is a substantive dictionary of over 500 terms relating to learning theories and environments. Definitions range from approximately 100 to 700 words, and each term is identified by the primary type of learning theory to which it applies: cognitivism, constructivism, behaviorism, humanism, or organizational learning. An annotated bibliography provides further resources to the most important writings about learning theories.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2002

Relevant Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Content: Books, Bibliographies, Conference Proceedings, Ephemera, Indexes, Magazines, Newspapers, Poems, Reference, Reports, Reviews,
Education Database [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Education Database includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Content: Books, Conference Proceedings, Newspapers, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations
ERIC [via EBSCO] This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. Note: Most ED documents from 1975 to 2004 are also available in the ERIC microfiche collection on Level 11 of the Library. Content: Books, Indexes, Reference, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete This link opens in a new window This comprehensive Canadian periodical collection features a diversified mix of publications from 3 databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference & Current Events including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio/television transcripts, news, dissertations, and more. Delivering a broad range of coverage from a Canadian perspective it spans topics like agriculture, business/economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more. Content: Canadian, General/Multidisciplinary, Magazines, Newspapers, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations, Transcripts
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports. Search can be limited to the following databases: Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts & Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities Book Citation Index - Science Book citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities Current Chemical Reactions Index Chemicus To limit your results to one of the above citation indexes, scroll down the main search page and click on the appropriate database.

Relevant Keywords

education AND philosophy
curriculum planning
curricula
educational tests AND measurements
academic achievement AND tests AND research
validity
reliability

Your Librarian and Freddie!

Emma Scott

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office L1150

403-329-2355

Subjects: Education, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

APA Resources

Check out the Library's APA LibGuide
OWL Purdue APA Guide
Does your article have a DOI and a stable url for your citation? Find out, using CrossRef.
Looking for help with APA formatting? Check out these sample papers:
- APA Purdue OWL sample paper
- Official APA's sample papers