LibGuides: Research in Education: MEd Leadership

APA Resources

Check out the Library's APA LibGuide
OWL Purdue APA Guide
Does your article have a DOI and a stable url for your citation? Find out, using CrossRef.
Looking for help with APA formatting? Check out these sample papers:
- APA Purdue OWL sample paper
- Official APA's sample papers

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Print only
Publication Date: 2019

Recommended Databases

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Education Research Complete is a robust database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Providing hundreds of full-text education journals, it covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Content: Books, Bibliographies, Conference Proceedings, Ephemera, Indexes, Magazines, Newspapers, Poems, Reference, Reports, Reviews,
ERIC [via EBSCO] This link opens in a new window ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. Note: Most ED documents from 1975 to 2004 are also available in the ERIC microfiche collection on Level 11 of the Library. Content: Books, Indexes, Reference, Reports, Reviews, Scholarly Journals
Education Database [via ProQuest] This link opens in a new window ProQuest's Education Database includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. It covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Content: Books, Conference Proceedings, Newspapers, Reports, Scholarly Journals, Theses & Dissertations
APA PsycINFO [via Ovid] This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Access scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes citation mapping and citation reports. Search can be limited to the following databases: Science Citation Index Expanded Social Sciences Citation Index Arts & Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities Book Citation Index - Science Book citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities Current Chemical Reactions Index Chemicus To limit your results to one of the above citation indexes, scroll down the main search page and click on the appropriate database.

Getting the most out of your searches

This short guide provides you with tips for searching Education topics for relevant articles, using keywords, and getting help.

Use this worksheet, revised for Education researchers, to guide you step-by-step when beginning a new topic search.

Moving Beyond Keyword Searches

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Access curated literature lists and summaries. Search for relevant books and articles on the Library homepage (please note some of the links within Oxford don't work - if you're having trouble locating anything, contact us for help). You can either use the search bar for topics or you can go to "Browse Subjects" on the left-hand size and choose Education.

Use what you've already got.

If you're basing your topic off a book or article you've already got or was provided by your professor, you can use this to quickly track down relevant authors and their works.
See the references/work cited at the end of a book, chapter or article. If a particular scholar keeps coming up, remember to find out what they've written since.
Citation tracing is available through most databases. Click here for step-by-step instructions & tips.

Course Resources in the Library's Collection

School Culture Rewired by Steve Gruenert; Todd Whitaker
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2015
This e-book license permits unlimited simultaneous users (some e-books will only allow one reader at a time).
Shaping School Culture by Terrence E. Deal; Kent D. Peterson
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2016
We have this e-book through EBSCO & ProQuest. The ProQuest license allows for unlimited simultaneous users.
Enacting Alberta School Leaders' Professional Practice Competencies by George J. Bedard; Carmen P. Mombourquette This book captures the lived experiences of school principals engaged in meeting the standards of practice inherent in the Professional Practice Competencies for School Leaders in Alberta. These principals tell their own stories of how they meet the competencies mandate of building relationships, establishing and living a school vision, leading a learning community, providing instructional leadership, developing leadership in others, managing the organization, and responding to the societal needs of the context within which the schools are located. In addition, as authors, we provide a theoretical framework for the competencies and situate them within scholarly research....
Call Number: Print collection: LB 1028 B44 E53 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Coherence: The Right Drivers in Action for Schools, Districts, and Systems by Michael Fullan; Joanne Quinn Complex times call for clear solutions--If initiative overload and fragmentation are keeping your best plans from becoming reality, it's time to start leading differently. The key to bringing about the kind of successful and sustainable change you need is the Coherence Framework, a dynamic, customizable road map.
Call Number: Print copy in collection, e-book ordered
Publication Date: 2016

Additional Resources in the Library's Collection

First Nations Education in Canada: The Circle Unfolds by Marie Battiste (Editor) Written mainly by First Nations and Metis people, this book examines current issues in First Nations education.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 1995
Leadership in education: The power of generative dialogue by Pamela Adams, Carmen Mombourquette, David Townsend
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2019
Data-Driven Leadership by Vicki Park; Amanda Datnow Tools and techniques from the trailblazers in data-based education reform Over a period of several years, Amanda Datnow and Vicki Park visited public schools with a reputation for being ahead of the pack in data-driven decision making. The results of this pioneering study reveal how education leaders can make data work for students and teachers, rather than against them. This book is an essential guide to meeting the challenges of high-stakes accountability, building performance-based schools, and improving student outcomes. By following the advice in this book, you'll be able to transform data overload into a data-positive school culture. You'll learn the difference between "data-driven leadership" and "data-informed leadership," and how to use distributed leadership to inspire collaboration and guided analysis. Incorporating narrative reflections drawn from real educators and administrators, the authors refine their observations and interviews into practical conclusions that leaders can put to use immediately. This book empowers leaders to support inquiry, build trust in data-based initiatives, establish goals for evidence use, and provide educators with the skills they need to mobilize data for the good of all stakeholders. "Datnow and Park's ideas are easily accessible and grounded in clear examples, and their seven 'calls' about what needs to be done nail the problem and the solutions. Use this book as your action guide and you'll be rewarded with better results in student learning." --Michael Fullan, professor emeritus, University of Toronto "Datnow and Park uncover, at last, what it means to use data to inform leadership. Documenting the four P's (people, policies, practices, and patterns) in schools, we learn about the organization and dynamics of reform informed by data. A must read!" --Ann Lieberman, senior scholar, Stanford University
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2014
Crafting the Feedback Teachers Need and Deserve by Thomas M. Van Soelen Crafting the Feedback Teachers Need and Deserve illuminates an often overlooked aspect of educational leadership: providing quality written feedback. This resource offers context, purpose, and techniques on how to capture and write beneficial feedback. Proven in school districts, Van Soelen's strategies will accelerate improvement in classroom practice and result in teachers who crave feedback and use it to supervise themselves. Full of examples and complete with an assessment tool to gauge current practice, this book shares insights into providing effective observation and feedback within any teacher evaluation system.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016

EndNote

Need EndNote help? Please email the EndNote email account = endnote.library@uelth.ca

Click here for our EndNote LibGuide.

Support for Students at U of L

New to the Collection!

Leading a School Culture of Learning by Jill Harland This practical book is designed to help school leaders develop a sustainable culture of learning across the curriculum. It offers a personal insight into how one school embraced a range of dialogic and analytical tools to create an environment in which all stakeholders were inspired to evaluate and innovate. Each chapter tackles one piece of the 'jigsaw' that makes up a successful school environment, considering topics such as Attitudes for Learning, Coaching for Learning and Love of Learning. Utilising theory, case studies and activities, it illustrates how the reader can realistically and practically increase student attainment in their own school setting. This book will help leaders: Develop a supportive and encouraging leadership style that will create a cycle of self-improvement and self-efficacy for all Adapt the curriculum to focus on progress and engagement Use the Philosophy 4 Children strategies to promote deeper thinking and enquiry, increasing the rate of school improvement through a system of enquiry based staff professional development Using an inner-city primary school as a working example, this book will be a source of inspiration and encouragement for school leaders, teachers and school advisors looking to cultivate and embed a love of learning into their school.
Call Number: Availble online
Publication Date: 2021
Transforming School Culture Through Lesson Observation by Christine Cunniffe This book sets out a three-stage programme for lesson observation showing how a collaborative whole-school approach can transform the culture of the staffroom and improve outcomes for pupils. Focusing on the emotional environment of the classroom, the relationships between teachers and pupils, and teaching and learning outcomes, it will enable schools to provide a consistent approach to lesson observation where good practice can be celebrated and shared. Revealing the positive impact of the programme on pupils' engagement and exam results, co-operation between departments and teacher wellbeing, the book: Provides clear guidance on implementing the programme and adapting it for different contexts. Shows how data can be used for both Ofsted and Independent Schools Inspectorate (ISI) inspection documentation. Adresses key issues such as culture, staff psychological contracts, the emotional environment of the school and leadership development. If you are looking to make real impact within your school and bring about change for the better, the three-stage lesson observation programme is the tool for you. This innovative approach brings consistency, parity and fairness to lesson observation creating a secure and safe environment in which pupils can learn and teachers can teach.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2021
Applying Turbulence Theory to Educational Leadership in Challenging Times by Steven Jay Gross In our increasingly complex world, the turbulent forces affecting educators have become vastly more dynamic, creating complex challenges but, perhaps paradoxically, also unique opportunities. Reframing how to understand the drivers of turbulence, Applying Turbulence Theory to Educational Leadership in Challenging Times provides aspiring and practicing educational leaders with the theory and tools for understanding Turbulence Theory and its application to school contexts. Renowned author Steven Jay Gross explores how you can apply turbulence theory to respond to critical incidents, as well as how to address the tensions across various stakeholders, including the central office, principals, teachers, students, families, and communities. With over 20 innovative, case-based examples and discussion questions, this book explores how turbulence can be leveraged or minimized to increase creative opportunity and address dilemmas in schools.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2019