LibGuides: Research in Education: For Faculty

E-Books

Small Teaching Online by Flower Darby
Publication Date: 2019
Find out how to apply learning science in online classes The concept of small teaching is simple: small and strategic changes have enormous power to improve student learning. Instructors face unique and specific challenges when teaching an online course. This book offers small teaching strategies that will positively impact the online classroom.
The Successful TA: A Practical Approach to Effective Teaching by Kathy M. Nomme; Carol Pollock Maybe you're an undergraduate or graduate student who's just been appointed a TA. Or maybe you're a postdoctoral student or a new hire with limited teaching experience. In either case, you'll be expected - with little to no training - to excel at teaching and to facilitate the learning of your students. Kathy Nomme and Carol Pollock recognize this gap between expectations and preparation and draw on decades of experience in teaching and TA training to offer practical advice on all aspects of being a TA, from interacting with course instructors and dealing with nerves and anxiety, to developing learning exercises and providing positive support for students.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2022
The Grant Writing Guide: A Road Map for Scholars by Betty Lai A practical guide to effective grant writing for researchers at all stages of their academic careers Grant funding can be a major determinant of promotion and tenure at colleges and universities, yet many scholars receive no training in the crucial skill of grant writing. The Grant Writing Guide is an essential handbook for writing research grants, providing actionable strategies for professionals in every phase of their careers, from PhD students to seasoned researchers. This easy-to-use guide features writing samples, examples of how researchers use skills, helpful tips, and exercises. Drawing on interviews with scores of grant writers, program officers, researchers, administrators, and writers, it lays out best practices, common questions, and pitfalls to avoid. Betty Lai focuses on skills that are universal to all grant writers, not just specific skills for one type of grant or funder. She explains how to craft phenomenal pitches and align them with your values, structure timelines and drafts, communicate clearly in prose and images, solicit feedback to strengthen your proposals, and much more. Ideal for course use, The Grant Writing Guide is an indispensable road map to writing fundable grants. This incisive book walks you through every step along the way, from generating ideas to finding the right funder, determining which grants help you create the career you want, and writing in a way that excites reviewers and funders.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2023
Candid Advice for New Faculty Members by Marybeth Gasman A 2022 SPE Outstanding Book Honorable Mention "If you want to achieve tenure, you should know a bit more about what it means and why it exists, and its benefits. All too often, even faculty don't understand why tenure is important." Thus begins the Preface of Candid Advice for New Faculty Members, the newest and most comprehensive "how to" guide for graduate students, post-docs, and junior faculty across a variety of academic disciplines. Drawing upon her own extensive experiences and that of many colleagues, Marybeth Gasman provides you with an incredibly valuable tool for attaining tenure and for the things that you should do to advance your academic career. She provides practical (and sometimes humorous) advice about a range of topics, including: negotiating job offers planning a research agenda improving your teaching skills managing service advising students applying for research grants achieving life/work balance managing academic politics In addition to this valuable career advice, Gasman provides a peek behind the academy's curtain by painting a vivid picture of the inner workings of the academy and all of its players. Candid Advice for New Faculty Members is required reading for every newly-minted faculty member, regardless of academic discipline. The wisdom provided in this volume will prove to be invaluable to your future career. Perfect for courses such as: Doctoral seminars across various disciplines, College and University Teaching, Graduate Student Research Seminars, Professional Development Seminars
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2021

Library Services for Faculty and Instructors

We offer many services to Faculty, including but not limited to:

Copyright information
Scholarly communication and Open Access
Borrowing guidelines
Research and teaching support
Course reserves
Services for Research Assistants

Contact your Librarian

Collection Development

Faculty input is essential to the ongoing development of relevant and responsive collections. I encourage you to contact me any time with your recommendations.

To accommodate online learning, I'm happy to try to find an e-book or streaming video copy of resources; however, not every title will be available or affordable in those formats. If we have enough time, we can work together to find an alternate resource.

Keeping Current - JournalTOCs

JournalTOCs is a free service you can sign-up with to ensure you're up-to-date on the most recent journal publications in your research area. Want to know more? Click here!

STP Resources

A selection of resources to help you gather data for extension of probation, tenure or promotion applications. Please feel free to recommend additional resources (paula.cardozo@uleth.ca).

Self-archive in OPUS! Benefits include increased visibility for your work through an Open Access version, the ability to track use in OPUS, compliance with the U of L's new OA policy & granting agencies. Simply email a list of your publications to opus.library@uleth.ca and they will check permissions for you.
ORCID id - What is it & why should I get one?
Who's talking about your research? Track "Altmetrics" through the Summon Search on the Library's homepage to find data from social media, blogs, news media, policy documents and more.
Regarding Google Scholar - see this guide for info on tracing Google Scholar citation data and known limitations of the database.
Please note that we do not have a subscription to Scopus.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This database features citation mapping, citation reports, & info about journal impact factors.

See this guide for more information on the tools available in Web of Science.

Accommodating You and Your Students Online

Finding E-books & User Seats Learn how to find e-books & locate info on how many users can access at one time.
Finding Streaming Videos Learn how to restrict your search to our streaming video content.

Your Librarian

Emma Scott

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office L1150

403-329-2355

Subjects: Education, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

Research in Education: For Faculty

E-Books

Library Services for Faculty and Instructors

Contact your Librarian

STP Resources

Accommodating You and Your Students Online

Your Librarian

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library