Skip to Main Content

Research in Education: Reference

A University of Lethbridge Library guide to resources for Education researchers.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Subject-specific reference works such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks provide background information that will help you understand your topic. They are excellent starting points for beginning your research as they identify key concepts, scholars, and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information.

The Library provides access to subject-specific reference sources written and edited by experts in your field of study

Reference Search

Handbooks

Routledge Handbook of Physical Education Pedagogies by Catherine D. Ennis (Editor) The first fully comprehensive review of theory, research and practice in physical education to be published in over a decade, this handbook represents an essential, evidence-based guide for all students, researchers and practitioners working in PE. Showcasing the latest research and theoretical work, it offers important insights into effective curriculum management, student learning, teaching and teacher development across a variety of learning environments. This handbook not only examines the methods, influences and contexts of physical education in schools, but also discusses the implications for professional practice. It includes both the traditional and the transformative, spanning physical education pedagogies from the local to the international. It also explores key questions and analysis techniques used in PE research, illuminating the links between theory and practice. Its nine sections cover a wide range of topics including: curriculum theory, development, policy and reform transformative pedagogies and adapted physical activity educating teachers and analysing teaching the role of student and teacher cognition achievement motivation. Offering an unprecedented wealth of material, the Routledge Handbook of Physical Education Pedagogies is an essential reference for any undergraduate or postgraduate degree programme in physical education or sports coaching, and any teacher training course with a physical education element.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2016
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Popular Music Education by Zack Moir (Editor); Bryan Powell (Editor); Gareth Dylan Smith (Editor) The Bloomsbury Handbook of Popular Music Educationdraws together current thinking and practice on popular music education from empirical, ethnographic, sociological and philosophical perspectives. Through a series of unique chapters from authors working at the forefront of music education, this book explores the ways in which an international group of music educators each approach popular music education. Chapters discuss pedagogies from across the spectrum of formal to informal learning, including "outside" and "other" perspectives that provide insight into the myriad ways in which popular music education is developed and implemented. The book is organized into the following sections- - Conceptualizing Popular Music Education - Musical, Creative and Professional Development - Originating Popular Music - Popular Music Education in Schools - Identity, Meaning and Value in Popular Music Education - Formal Education, Creativities and Assessment Contributions from academics, teachers, and practitioners make this an innovative and exciting volume for students, teachers, researchers and professors in popular music studies and music education.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Research on Administration, Policy, and Leadership in Higher Education by Siran Mukerji (Editor); Purnendu Tripathi (Editor) The creation of a sustainable and accessible higher education systems is a pivotal goal in modern society. Adopting strategic frameworks and innovative techniques allows institutions to achieve this objective. The Handbook of Research on Administration, Policy, and Leadership in Higher Education is an authoritative reference source for the latest scholarly research on contemporary management issues in educational institutions and presents best practices to improve policies and retain effective governance. Addressing the current state of higher education at an international level, this book is ideally designed for academicians, educational administrators, researchers, and professionals.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Research on Promoting Cross-Cultural Competence and Social Justice in Teacher Education by Jared Keengwe (Editor) Without proper training on the intricacies of race and culture, pre-service and in-service teachers may unwittingly continue outdated and ineffective pedagogies. As the demographics of student bodies shift to include more diverse backgrounds, fluency in the discourse of social justice becomes necessary. The Handbook of Research on Promoting Cross-Cultural Competence and Social Justice in Teacher Education elucidates the benefits, challenges, and strategies necessary to prepare teachers to meet the needs of a diverse student body. Featuring the newest research and pedagogical tools written by diverse scholars in the field of teacher training, this expertly crafted handbook is ideal for teachers, administrators, students of education, and policymakers.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2016
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by Marie Tejero Hughes (Editor); Elizabeth Talbott (Editor) The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2017

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Inclusive and Special Education by Umesh Sharma (Editor-In-Chief); Spencer J. Salend (Editor-In-Chief) Throughout the world, there has been a significant shift in whether, where, and how learners are educated regardless of their socio-economic, geographic, and disability status; gender and sexual orientation; family structure; and ethnic, racial, cultural, linguistic and religious background. Recognizing that the debates, challenges, research, initiatives, and recommendations concerning the best ways to provide a high-quality education to learners with a range of diversities continue to influence educational policies and practices around the world, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Inclusive and Special Education presents the contributions of a diverse international group of established and up-and-coming scholars who discuss an array of historical, current, and emerging issues that are at the intersection of inclusive and special schooling. While the Encyclopedia addresses inclusive and special education, the primary focus is on inclusive education as an international and 21st century movement that in part reflects and rejects the foundations of special education. By presenting global perspectives addressing the foundations, effective practices, policies, and workforce preparation initiatives related to inclusive and special education, these volumes examine a range of issues that are at the nexus of inclusive and special schooling.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2021
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Michael A. Peters (Editor) This encyclopaedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise. This is an encyclopaedia that is truly global and while focused mainly on the Western tradition is also respectful and representative of other knowledge traditions. It professes to understand the globalization of knowledge. It is unique in the sense that it is based on theoretical orientations and approaches to the main concepts and theories in education, drawing on the range of disciplines in the social sciences. The encyclopaedia privileges the "theory of practice", recognizing that education as a discipline and activity is mainly a set of professional practices that inherently involves questions of power and expertise for the transmission, socialization and critical debate of competing norms and values.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: Available in print and online
Publication Date: 2003
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation This book covers the basics of traditional educational testing, measurement, and evaluation theory and methodology, as well as sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2018
International Encyclopedia of Education by Penelope Peterson, Eva Baker, Barry McGaw
Call Number: LB 15 I569 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: LB 17 P485 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Available Online