LibGuides: Research in Education: Primary Sources

U of L Newspaper & Magazines Collections (most are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty - unless indicated as FREE)

The collections featured here are primarily Canadian, to see our full newspaper holdings, visit the Newspapers LibGuide.

Calgary Herald Archive This link opens in a new window
Explore The Calgary Herald archives, which captures the history of Calgary's distinct and entrepreneurial community.
Canada NewspaperARCHIVE This link opens in a new window
A selection of Canadian newspapers. Alberta content includes: Lethbridge Herald (1904-2016), Medicine Hat News (1894-2017), Medicine Hat Times (1889-1894), Fort MacLeod Gazette (1883-1902), Drumheller Mail (1917-1998), Edmonton Bulletin (1896-1904).
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Canadian news sources, covering major newspapers such as The Globe and Mail, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Toronto Star, Regina Sun, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Vancouver Sun, Victoria News.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly) This link opens in a new window
Access articles from Canadian and international journals, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a broad range of subjects including current events, health, technology, the arts, history, literature, culture and business. Scholarly articles, magazines, newspapers, biographies, reference material, company profiles, historical documents.
Globe and Mail (1844-2018) This link opens in a new window
Access the full-page newspaper archive of The Globe and Mail from June 1844 to 2018.
Maclean's Magazine Archive [via EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
Canadian news and general interest magazine, provides a unique perspective on both national and international affairs. Coverage from 1905 to 2015 with cover-to-cover processing presents each issue in its entirety as originally published, including ads.
Southern Alberta Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains locally digitized content from historical newspapers such as the Alberta Star, Barons Enterprise, Barons Globe, Cardston News, Cardston Record, Granum Adverister, Granum Herald, Granum News, Granum Press, Granum Times, Kainai News, Lethbridge News, Macleod Advertiser, Macleod Chronicle, Macleod Gazette, Macleod News, Macleod Spectator, Magrath Pioneer, Milk River Review, and Sun Dance Echo.

U of L Primary Sources Collections (again, most are subscription, unless indicated as FREE)

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable archive containing approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on the social, political, health and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world. Materials include periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government documents, organizational papers, correspondence, and an international selection of posters.
CanLII This link opens in a new window
FREE ACCESS: Access primary sources of Canadian law, including the legislative and judicial texts, as well as legal commentaries, from federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. Also includes links to law information in other countries.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Original source materials from British and European archives on the topics of gender, leisure and consumer culture. Covers history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers & account books, government documents, illustrated writings.
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized historical publications of content that are representative of the diversity of the Canadian population.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated research experience, Gale Primary Sources unifies extensive digital archives covering hundreds of years of human history. Includes books, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and photographs.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 This link opens in a new window
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographical sketches of people represented in this database.
Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window
Search an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies.
Includes books, newspaper issues, postcards, maps.
Transgender Archives This link opens in a new window
Access materials committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researches who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ people.

Recommended by Dr. Amy von Heyking

Alberta Education Historical Curriculum Guides

Coronet Instructional Films

Wiedrick Collection - Alberta Schools Historical Textbooks

Additional Primary Source LibGuides

What is a Primary Source?
List of Primary Source database collections at U of L
Oral Histories - collections and how-to guides
Film & Video collections

Historical Textbook Information & Collections

Alberta Schools Historical Textbooks (Wiedrick Collection) - digitized through Internet Archive

British Columbia Historical Textbooks - digitized through Internet Archive

Ontario Historical Textbooks lists from OISE

U.S. Historical Textbooks - Internet Archive

19th Century Schoolbooks digital collection - University of Pittsburgh

Primary School Readers digital collection - Internet Archive

Readers digital collection - Hahti Trust, international

Additional Primary Sources - freely available on the internet

Internet Archives - Non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives - The NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations.

Research in Education

U of L Newspaper & Magazines Collections (most are restricted to current students, staff, and faculty - unless indicated as FREE)

U of L Primary Sources Collections (again, most are subscription, unless indicated as FREE)

Recommended by Dr. Amy von Heyking

Additional Primary Source LibGuides

Historical Textbook Information & Collections

Additional Primary Sources - freely available on the internet

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library