Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
The most current research is often found in journal articles. Library databases provide citations for articles, abstracts (a summary of the article) and often link you to the full text of the article. If the full text for an article you need isn't available through this Library, you can request it via
Click here for
Database search tips or Ask Us for help.
Do you need a resource that is not included in the University of Lethbridge Library's collection? You can request it through
Connect to Google Scholar
Recommended Article Databases
It is important to remember that many topics in this field are interdisciplinary and you may wish to search
databases from other subject areas as needed. You can also consult the U of L Library's various subject guides for more tips.
In addition to journal articles, databases may also provide access to book reviews, magazine and newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, government documents, book chapters, and conference proceedings.
WGST Recommended Databases
Gender Studies Database (GSD)
Access gender related literature covering sexual diversity issues. Indexes journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Access research covering sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work. Includes author profiles and a sociological thesaurus.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, monographs, conference papers, author profiles
Provides current table of contents information from feminist periodicals covering a wide spectrum of topics on women's scholarship, feminist theory and women's culture.
Search scholarly journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
America: History and Life
Access citations and abstracts from journals focusing on the history, culture, area studies, and current affairs literature of the United States and Canada.
Content: Scholarly journals, books, media reviews
Indexes journals covering the history of the world, excluding Canada and the United States, from 1450 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals, reports, and conference proceedings.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender : LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
A fully searchable archive containing approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on the social, political, health and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world. Materials include periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government documents, organizational papers, correspondence, and an international selection of posters.
Women and Gender Studies Core Books (ACRL/WGSS)
Access curated booklists for subject areas in Women & Gender Studies. Only titles currently in print are included.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (WASM)
Search materials covering American women’s social movements from colonial times to the present. Includes the Dictionary of Social Movements.
Content: Primary sources, scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, book, film and website reviews, images
Gerritsen collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Access publications reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the women’s rights movements in Western Europe, North America, and New Zealand.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries: 1500 to 1950
Access a collection, spanning 400+ years, of personal writings of women from Great Britain and Ireland. Also contains biographies.
North American Women's Drama
Access the full-text of 1,500+ plays (many unpublished) by North American women playwrights, with information on the playwrights, related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Supports research in history of feminism and women's studies.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries : Colonial to 1950
Access primary sources focused on 1,300+ North American women's experiences from Colonial times to 1950. Includes diaries, correspondence and biographies.
WAAND (Women Artists Archives National Directory)
Search an online directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists and women's arts organizations active in the U.S. since 1945.