Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites -- General Anthropology Resources
Websites -- Linguistics
Linguistic Data Consortium
This website links users to digital archives that house materials that are intended to document and describe human languages.
International Phonetic Association
The IPA websites provides back issues of the association's journal, the International Phonetic Alphabet, sound recordings, their electronic newsletter, links, and news.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
This is an online, encyclopedic reference work cataloguing all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages
Websites -- Physical Anthropology
California Academy of Sciences Anthropology Collection
On this freely accessible database, explore the images of approximately 16, 000 objects from the CAS's Anthropology Collection.
This project, by the University of Texas at Austin, provides an interactive online environment that lets you examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The site allows you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from the provided osteology database.
Human Origins Initiative
This website describes the Smithsonian Human Origins Initiative, includes a virtual tour of the Hall of Human Ancestors in the National Museum of Natural History, reports recent findings in paleoanthropology, lets you e-mail the Smithsonian paleoanthropologists questions about human origins, and provides links to related websites.
Websites -- Ethnology
The American Folklife Center Website
This site is meant for people who are unable to physically visit the American Folklife Center (part of the Library of Congress). It introduces the activities of the Center and its Archive of Folk Culture, and provides news about programs and activities, online presentations, and other resources to facilitate folklife projects and study.
Canadian Society for Traditional Music
This website provides resources related to musical traditions of all communities and cultures.
AFS Ethnographic Thesaurus
The American Folklore Society Ethnographic Thesaurus is a searchable online vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about folklore, ethnomusicology, cultural anthropology, and related fields.
Websites -- Archaeology Libary Guide