LibGuides: Women & Gender Studies: Faculty Works

Resources recommended by WGST Faculty

Recommended by Dr. Carol Williams

According to Baba: A Collaborative Oral History of Sudbury's Ukrainian Community

ActiveHistory.ca - Teaching the Legacy of the Sixties Scoop and Addressing Ongoing Child Welfare Inequality in the Classroom

AfroQueer Podcast

American Physical Society: Women Physicists Speakers List - no longer being maintained by APS (October 2022)

anneslist: Highlighting Female Systems Neuroscientists

BearPaw Full-Length Legal Education Videos

CelebrateDifferencePodcast

Click! The Ongoing Feminist Revolution

Conducting Research on Residential Schools: A Guide to the Records of the Indian and Inuit Affairs Program and Related Resources at Library and Archives Canada

Emma Goldman Papers - University of California

The Fight's Not Over - "This podcast explores the 1970 Abortion Caravan on its 51st anniversary, in the midst of a global pandemic, including its history and its implications for today."

For Want of a Home - video on homelessness and LGBTQ youth

Indigenous Feminisms Power Panel

Judith Butler, DLitt - McGill 2013 Honorary Doctorate Address

Looking Back to Look Forward: Resources Exploring Black Prairie Experiences

Making Gay History: The Podcast

Margaret Sanger Papers Project - New York University

mediaINDIGENA - Interactive Indigenous Insight

Native Media Archives - Vision Maker Media

National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls - Library

Nature of Writing - instructional videos

Nursing Clio

People of Color Also Know Stuff

Pioneer Women

Protest Songs & Lyrics: Historical, Social Justice & Human Rights Songs

Reconciliation Rising Podcast

Regina Kunzel interview on her article "The Power of Queer History"

A Select Annotated Bibliography Regarding Bill C-31, Indian Registration and Band Membership, Aboriginal Identity, Women and Gender Issues

Sexting History Podcasts

Shekon Neechie: An Indigenous History Site

Spare Rib - Archived content (1972 - 1993) from the British Library

The State of Reproductive Health in Alberta: A Q&A with Dr. Carol Williams

Transgender Media Portal

Where are the Children? Healing the Legacy of the Residential Schools

Women Also Know History

Women in Astronomy Database

Women Film Pioneers Project

Women Make Movies (WMM)

Women Suffrage and Beyond

Recommended by Dr. Caroline Hodes

Charter Challenge to Homelessness and Violations of the Right to Adequate Housing in Canada: Tanudjaja v. Canada

Human Rights Resources - The Office of the Gender & Women's Studies Librarian at University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries

Osgoode Hall Law School Digital Commons

Project Diana (Human Rights Cases) - Yale University - Lillian Goldman Law Library

R. v. Wagar Court Transcripts

Stanford Rape Case Court Documents: People v. Brock Allen Turner

Supreme Court of Canada - Additional Records

Women's Human Rights Resources - Bora Laskin Law Library

Paula's Picks

Digital Transgender Archive (my thanks to Leona Jacobs for recommending this one! Canadian content is discoverable by going to the "browse by map" function)

Paula's List of Lists (resources to combat conference "manels" and media underrepresentation of diverse scholars).

500 Queer Scientists - creates opportunities for community connections and greater visibility for LGBTQ+ people and their allies within STEM.

500 Women Scientists - includes the "Request a Woman in STEMM" search.

American Physical Society speaker lists - separate physicist lists for women and minorities. (dead links, emailed APS for update Oct. 11/22)

Anneslist - highlights women in neuroscience.

Cite Black Women - "engages with social media, aesthetic representation (our t-shirts) and public dialogue to push people to critically rethink the politics of race gender and knowledge production."

Directory of Women in Machine Learning

Diverse Sources - created for journalists working on a deadline, this list connects them with underrepresented experts in science, health, and the environment.

Diversify Chemistry list

Earth Science Women's Network - a non-profit organization "lifts all scientists and moves the geosciences forward."

Informed Opinions - a non-profit organization that has been working to amplify women's voices in the media since 1980. Searchable database here.

People of Color Also Know Stuff - promote scholars of color in Political Science. In addition to their experts database, they also have mentoring info to support grad students.

Reflect Reality - a list of lists! Leads to lists of women experts across a variety of sectors.

Sourcelist - provides a diverse pool of experts on tech policy.

Women Also Know History - promotes the work of women in History.

Women Also Know Law - provides a searchable database of women and non-binary people in the discipline.

WomenAlsoKnowStuff - promotes the work of women in Political Science by providing a database of relevant experts for syllabi, conferences, media contacts, etc.

Women Are Boring - dedicated to highlighting research by women in all fields of academia and to facilitating interdisciplinary scholarship.

Women in theoretical/computational chemistry, material science, and biochemistry - provides a directory.

A Selection of Faculty Publications

Racism in Southern Alberta and Anti-Racist Activism for Change by Caroline Hodes (Editor); Glenda Tibe Bonifacio (Editor) Drawing on reflective personal narrative, experiential research, and critical theoretical engagement, this collection connects localized experiences with broader structural and systemic forms of intersectional racism. These detailed examinations of the various forms of racism faced by immigrants and Indigenous people living and working in Southern Alberta reveal how institutional racism continues to saturate modern Canadian culture and practice.
Call Number: E-book copy
Publication Date: 2023
Disasters in the Philippines: Before and After Haiyan by Glenda Tibe Bonifacio (Editor); Roxanna Balbido Epe (Editor) Bringing together the voices of local scholars in the Philippines, this book offers critical insights into one of the world's most disaster-prone regions. The Asia-Pacific region is one of the most vulnerable regions in the world, with the effects of climate change contributing to rising sea levels and increasingly frequent typhoons and floods. Case studies in this book examine such disasters, including the aftermath of 2013 super typhoon Haiyan. Discussions are centered around four themes: women and empowerment, economics and recovery, community and resilience, and religion and spirituality. Through its analysis, the book demonstrates the scopes, inequities, and inefficiencies of policies and responses, as well as forms of empowerment and resilience, in meeting challenges in disaster-afflicted communities in the Philippines. Its conclusions provide a more nuanced and grounded perspective of policies, practices, and approaches in the sociology of disasters today.
Call Number: E-book copy
Publication Date: 2023
Disrupting Queer Inclusion by Rinaldo Walcott (Foreword by); OmiSoore H. Dryden (Editor); Suzanne Lenon (Editor) Canada likes to present itself as a paragon of gay rights. This book contends that Canada's acceptance of gay rights, while being beneficial to some, obscures and abets multiple forms of oppression to the detriment and exclusion of some queer and trans bodies. Disrupting Queer Inclusion seeks to unsettle the assumption that inclusion equals justice. Offering a fresh analysis of the complexity of queer politics and activism, contributors detail how the fight for acceptance engenders complicity in a system that fortifies white supremacy, furthers settler colonialism, advances neoliberalism, and props up imperialist mythologies.
Call Number: HQ 73.3 C3 D58 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Indigenous Women and Work by Carol Williams (Editor) The essays in Indigenous Women and Work create a transnational and comparative dialogue on the history of the productive and reproductive lives and circumstances of Indigenous women from the late nineteenth century to the present in the United States, Australia, New Zealand/Aotearoa, and Canada. Surveying the spectrum of Indigenous women's lives and circumstances as workers, both waged and unwaged, the contributors offer varied perspectives on the ways women's work has contributed to the survival of communities in the face of ongoing tensions between assimilation and colonization. They also interpret how individual nations have conceived of Indigenous women as workers and, in turn, convert these assumptions and definitions into policy and practice. The essays address the intersection of Indigenous, women's, and labor history, but will also be useful to contemporary policy makers, tribal activists, and Native American women's advocacy associations. Contributors are Tracey Banivanua Mar, Marlene Brant Castellano, Cathleen D. Cahill, Brenda J. Child, Sherry Farrell Racette, Chris Friday, Aroha Harris, Faye HeavyShield, Heather A. Howard, Margaret D. Jacobs, Alice Littlefield, Cybèle Locke, Mary Jane Logan McCallum, Kathy M'Closkey, Colleen O'Neill, Beth H. Piatote, Susan Roy, Lynette Russell, Joan Sangster, Ruth Taylor, and Carol Williams.
Call Number: HQ 1381 I42 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Global Currents in Gender and Feminisms by Glenda Tibe Bonifacio (Editor) This collection examines the ongoing shared struggles of diverse groups of women in Canada and beyond focusing on a diverse range of themes including movements, spaces and rights; inclusion, equity and policies; reproductive labour, work and economy; health, culture and violence; and sports and bodies. Situating Canada as a western society with avowed egalitarian ideals, and based on a 'shared but different' approach, this book highlights the intersectional dimensions of gendered lives and feminist actions for change in both western and non-western contexts.  Gender issues and feminist struggles are interconnected internationally and this book examines the Canadian case alongside other countries across Latin America, Africa, Asia, Australasia and Europe to explore the global currents of gender and feminism and its practice. The centrality of gender and the need for feminist praxis remain highly relevant in the 21st Century, whether in western or non-western societies, and this collection provides a comprehensive overview of the international currents for gender equality, empowerment and social justice.
Call Number: HQ 1155 G555 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Feminist (Im)Mobilities in Fortress(ing) North America by Anne Sisson Runyan (Editor); Amy Lind; Marianne H. Marchand
Call Number: HQ 1400 F46 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Chapter by Dr. Caroline Hodes.
Pinay on the Prairies by Glenda Tibe Bonifacio For many Filipinos, one word - kumusta, how are you - is all it takes to forge a connection with a stranger anywhere in the world. In Canada's prairie provinces, this connection has inspired community building and created both national and transnational identities for the women who identify as pinay. This book is the first to look beyond traditional metropolitan hubs of settlement to explore the migration of Filipino women in Alberta, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan. Based on interviews with first-generation immigrant Filipino women and temporary foreign workers, Pinay on the Prairies is a revealing study of identity and community in Canada and an exploration of feminism, transnational identities, migration, and diaspora in a global era.
Call Number: FC 3250 F4 B65 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Framing the West by Carol J. Williams Framing the West argues that photography was intrinsic to British territorial expansion and settlement on the northwest coast. Williams shows how male and female settlers used photography to establish control over the territory and its indigenous inhabitants, as well as how native peopleseventually turned the technology to their own purposes. Photographs of the region were used to stimulate British immigration and entrepreneuralism, and imagies of babies and children were designed to advertise the population growth of the settlers. Although Indians were taken by Anglos to documenttheir "disappearing" traditions and to show the success of missionary activities, many Indians proved receptive to photography and turned posing for the white man's camera to their own advantage. This book will appeal to those interested in the history of the West, imperialism, gender, photography,and First Nations/Native America.
Call Number: TR 27 N8 W55 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Women & Gender Studies: Faculty Works

Resources recommended by WGST Faculty

A Selection of Faculty Publications

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library