Women & Gender Studies
Finding Sources for WGST 2600 Advocacy Case Report and Group Advocacy Project
Tips, tricks, and advice
- Start early and ask for help when you need it (librarian email: romany.craig@uleth.ca)
- When searching library resources pay attention to the keywords and subject headings used to describe your resources - then steal them for your own searches!
- Let one good journal article become more: Who cited your article? Who did they cite?
- Google like a pro! Use Advanced Search to search
- within an organization's website by putting the URL into the 'site or domain' field
- within a specific country or region by selecting from the region drop down
- limit to file type (ex. pdf or word to find reports; excel to find data sets)
- Reduce bias while increasing credibility by finding multiple sources that confirm the same thing.
Thinking about Sources
For your Advocacy Case Reports and Projects you'll need to draw on a variety of information sources, many of which don't fit into the "scholarly, peer-review" paradigm. It will help to organize your search based on the following categories of information to locate the voices, and evidence of experiences for the community or organization you've selected.
The "Marginalized Voices Honeycomb" image is from the presentation “Exploring Marginalized Voices: Information Literacy Framework for Searching beyond the Peer Review Paradigm” – by Jeff Newman, Mikayla Redden, and Aneta Kwak, D.G. Ivey Library, New College, University of Toronto
Linking to Sources
Links to relevant sources are organized by category below. Some links may be relevant for more than one category but have not been duplicated.
Academic Publications
- Recommended WGST Library DatabasesDatabases for scholarly and academic sources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources.
News Media
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess current editions of newspapers and magazines from around the world.
- CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index Quarterly) This link opens in a new windowProvides Canadian periodicals, a bilingual interface, indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward, The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in a variety of Canadian newspapers, many with extensive backfiles.
- Full list of newspaper databasesAll library newspaper databases, including historical.
Community Voices
- Galt Museum & Archives Collections This link opens in a new windowThe mandate of the Galt’s collections is to actively collect human-made artifacts and intellectual property that illuminate the founding and development of Lethbridge and southwestern Alberta from the late nineteenth century to the present. In addition, they acquire materials that highlight the region’s Indigenous history, focusing on the culture of the Blackfoot Confederacy.
- Q-Space Library [via LibraryThing] This link opens in a new windowQ-Space is a gender and sexuality focused advocacy and support group at the University of Lethbridge. Access recommended books surrounding identity, transition, sexual or mental health, and more.
- LPIRGLethbridge Public Interest Research Group
Association and Organizations
- DuckDuckGo Search EngineSearch the web while maintaining your privacy.
- Google Search EngineLink to the advanced search page.
- Worldwide NGO DirectoryThe Worldwide NGO Directory is a leading source of information on and resource for connecting with NGOs globally. It includes over 54,000 organizations in all fields of activity in more than 190 countries.
- Alberta Non-Profit ListingAlberta laws authorize the creation or incorporation of certain non-profit organizations and extra-provincial registration of organizations from other provinces and countries.
Public Sector Publications
- Custom Google SearchA customized Google search which filters to locate Canadian federal, provincial, or municipal documents.
- Ipsos Canadian Public Affairs Dataverse This link opens in a new windowRepository of Ipsos Canada surveys that shed light on Canadian elections, culture, politics, and society.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides easy access to global market and consumer data from thousands of sources on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
Allies and Impacted Groups
- search locations overlap with categories above
- consider allies at various levels:
- municipal, provincial /territorial, national
- multi/trans national organizations
- impacted groups could be of opposing viewpoints
Your WGST Librarian
Hi, I'm Romany.
If you have questions about searching, accessing, evaluating, using, or citing information I am here to help. Email me at romany.craig@uleth.ca or book an appointment time (in-person or virtual appointments are available).
Relevant Events
Citation Style Workshops
- APA (7th ed.): Tuesday, Feb. 11 [REGISTER NOW]
- MLA (9th ed.): Wednesday, Feb. 26 [REGISTER NOW]
- Chicago (18th ed.): Wednesday, Mar. 5 [REGISTER NOW]
All sessions are between 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.
WHERE: “The Alcove” (Library – Level 10)
The sessions are drop-in, but you can get your participation recognized if you register at https://myexperience.uleth.ca!