LibGuides: Women & Gender Studies: Gov Docs &amp; Stats

Government Documents

Government publications are key information sources in the field of Women & Gender Studies.

University of Lethbridge Library Government Information help guide
Start here! The above guide provides links to the websites of government departments, agencies, and organizations at local, national, and international levels. It contains useful information on how to locate and cite these documents.

University of Lethbridge Library Numeric Data & Statistics help guide

This guide provides an overview of numeric data collections and aggregate statistics available via the Library.

Gender & Work Database (GWD)

This database is informed by a feminist political economy approach and provides resources that facilitate research on gender and work. It is not open to the general public. As a DLI institution, U of L students and faculty can apply for access.

Women in Canada: A Gender-based Statistical Report by Statistics Canada.

Additional Resources

Invisible Women by Caroline Criado Perez Winner of the 2019 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Winner of the 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this bias, in time, money, and often with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates the shocking root cause of gender inequality and research in Invisible Women, diving into women's lives at home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more. Built on hundreds of studies in the US, the UK, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, unforgettable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2019
The Gender Pay Gap: Understanding the Numbers by Fatma Abdel-Raouf; Patricia M. Buhler Closing the gender pay gap begins with awareness and understanding of the state of the gap. This hybrid book that serves as a resource for both the academic and corporate communities, builds the reader's awareness of the gender pay gap, its magnitude and ramifications, and provides action plans to address the challenge. Much of the existing literature on the gender pay gap provides an excellent foundation in stating facts and inferences; yet, the reader is often left wondering 'now what?' This book tells the story of the state of the gap by the numbers and then offers specific actions that can be taken to achieve equity. The authors combine backgrounds in statistics and management/HR to provide a unique perspective in painting a broader overview of the issue, examining the history of the gender pay gap, its global impact, and how nations are addressing the issue. The book shines a light on the wide-ranging effects of the gap, including women's poverty rates, student loans, economic growth, childhood poverty, and corporate profits, and offers insights to help close it with best practices of select organizations. Upper-level undergraduate, postgraduate, and executive education students will appreciate the clarity and conciseness of this guide to understanding and solving an important human resources issue. The inclusion of a brief instructor's manual and PowerPoint slides for each chapter differentiates this book and adds to the ease of adoption in both the academic and corporate setting.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2020
LGBTQ Stats by Bennett Singer; David Deschamps; Jennifer Finney Boylan (Afterword by) LGBTQ STATS chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities. A lively, accessible, and eye-opening snapshot, LGBTQ STATS offers an invaluable resource for activists, journalists, lawmakers, and general readers who want the facts and figures on LGBTQ lives in the twenty-first century.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2017

Women & Gender Studies: Gov Docs & Stats

Government Documents

Additional Resources

Related Links

Connect with Us

Campus

Library